LLC Or Sole Proprieter? - Business - Contractor Talk

LLC Or Sole Proprieter?

Old 03-27-2010, 03:14 PM   #1
Contractor

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 10

LLC Or Sole Proprieter?

Ive been working as a sole proprietor for the past 2 years. I have been thinking about switching to a LLC for the purpose of getting loans easier to flip houses. Anyone have any experience in this? IN PA. (I have read / been told, mortgages are attainable by credit score alone and not w-2's)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-27-2010, 05:25 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Student
Rewards Points: 250

Re: LLC Or Sole Proprieter?

You missed the boat by a few years.

There are good reasons for using an llc over being a sole proprieter, but its not going to make getting a mortgage any easier.

I do not believe there are any mortgages available just due to having a good credit score. You also need two years tax returns showing enough income and a decent debt ratio.

If you have owned several properties for a couple years you may have more options both with using rents as income and getting different types of loans.

Advertisement

Old 03-27-2010, 05:49 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: general contractor
Rewards Points: 150

Pa laws are not in your favor. I would not consider any other corp but an s corp for tax reasons. Makes no difference as far as financing what you are your still going to personally back up the note.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-27-2010, 05:59 PM   #4
Pro

Trade: Professional Handyman
Rewards Points: 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWConstruction View Post