Insurance Company Says Flooring Is Structural??? - Business - Contractor Talk

Insurance Company Says Flooring Is Structural???

Old 06-13-2017, 05:19 PM   #1

Trade: Certified Building Contractor
Rewards Points: 8

Insurance Company Says Flooring Is Structural???

Hi all! This is my first time posting but I've been hanging around for a while. My husband and I own a small restoration company in FL. We are 95% complete with a fire restoration job. We've been having problems the whole time with the mortgage company releasing draws. The agreement with the mortgage company was we were to be paid complete after the 90% inspection barring no structural issues.
Now at the end they are holding 14k over flooring with the claim that they can't release funds because carpet and vinyl are structural. We are waiting for the homeowner to get HVAC repaired (that's another story!) to get flooring out but what the heck--flooring structural? Anyone else heard of this?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 06-13-2017, 05:40 PM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 2,696

Re: Insurance Company Says Flooring Is Structural???

No, never heard of flooring as being structural. Probably listed as what needs to be complete in their draw check list.

Also, getting paid 100% at 90% complete seems rather odd.

No retention? Yes even in residential work their is retention until 100% complete and punched out.

Advertisement

Old 06-13-2017, 06:22 PM   #3