Include Tax In Estimate? - Business - Contractor Talk

Include Tax In Estimate?

Old 04-06-2014, 08:32 PM   #1
Contractor

Trade: Trim and Light Remodel
Rewards Points: 228

Include Tax In Estimate?

I haven't formally introduced myself to contractortalk but I've been fairly involved. To sum up my history I could say I'm a young contractor and I've done well estimating and providing bids that include all overhead and profit etc etc etc. I feel confident charging what a legitimate contractor should charge. Here is my dilemma/question: As a young contractor I still have a lot of WOM clients who are primarily interested in price. The toughest sale I have right now is informing clients that my business is legit and I have to pay significant taxes on all the work I perform. How do you inform/sell a client on the fact that your price isn't just X$ per hour, that your price includes satisfying the insatiable federal government? I'm bidding a bathroom remodel right now which I know could be done under the table for almost nothing...but it a legit contractor does is legally the price almost doubles...how do you deal with that?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 04-06-2014, 11:06 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Journeyman Carpenter
Rewards Points: 249

Re: Include Tax In Estimate?

" How do you inform/sell a client on the fact that your price isn't just X$ per hour"

Tell them your jobs are not bid on an hourly rate, regardless of how you bid.

There are many factors that go into a bid:
overhead
materials
labor
accessibility
profit margin
markup
size of the job
location of the job... Just to name a few.