How To Pay And Time Manage Trade Contractors? - Business - Contractor Talk
View Poll Results: How do you pay trade contractors, for most projects?
Pay by Project 3 100.00%
Pay by Time and Materials 0 0%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

How To Pay And Time Manage Trade Contractors?

Old 02-07-2019, 04:43 PM   #1

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 8

How To Pay And Time Manage Trade Contractors?

Hi,

I am relatively new to being a GC and wanted to get an idea about what technology others are using to pay and manage time for trade contractors?

Also, I also wanted to ask if most GC's pay trade contractors by project based or time/material based.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 02-07-2019, 04:47 PM   #2

Re: How To Pay And Time Manage Trade Contractors?

Hi,

I am relatively new to being a GC and wanted to get an idea about what technology others are using to pay and manage time for trade contractors?

Also, I also wanted to ask if most GC's pay trade contractors by project based or time/material based.

Advertisement

Old 02-07-2019, 06:33 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Pro Cat Herder
Rewards Points: 1,692

It's not an either/or to me. What trade knowledge/experience do you have? What are you building?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-07-2019, 08:01 PM   #4

Working on commercial office rehab and also residential rehab above 100k.

I tend to have hourly contractors and I’m not sure if I am costing myself more or less.
Old 02-07-2019, 08:02 PM   #5

When do you decide to use hourly versus project based?
Old 02-07-2019, 08:35 PM   #6
Capra aegagrus

Trade: Remodeler
Rewards Points: 913