How To Not Get Messed Around When Applying For Jobs (wages) - Business - Contractor Talk

How To Not Get Messed Around When Applying For Jobs (wages)

Old 02-12-2020, 04:56 AM   #1

Trade: Apprentice
Rewards Points: 6
Unhappy

How To Not Get Messed Around When Applying For Jobs (wages)

Hi everyone,

So I'm a construction grad with some labouring experience in home remodelling (with my old man) and can either do an apprenticeship or find a contracts/site(field)/project management grad role.

My issue is I've been looking at both, and am getting f***d around quite a bit by potential employers. They either don't want to pay the going rate (or somewhat even close to it), or the job description is completely different (grad contracts assistant role, but instead have me in the field as a labourer instead - why even advertise it as a grad role)

I don't know if it's due to my age (25) and that I dont have a tough guy personality - Is it due to my lack of experience?

I know I am supposed to eat s*** at the start, how much s*** and for how long? - I am prepared to do this, but how much and how long should I expect?

Any advice on what to do? My old man is a GC soon to be retired, should I try to make it on my own and do remodelling? Everyone seems to be a mess around. I really want to get into building new homes though...but working for myself seems to look better each day

thanks again

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 02-12-2020, 07:09 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: building
Rewards Points: 1,772

Re: How To Not Get Messed Around When Applying For Jobs (wages)

Really interesting question...