Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

How do you pay a Sales person?

15K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  safety-qc 
#1 ·
I am looking to hire a SP. I cannot pay by hour since I don't know what they will bring. I was thinking a %, but not sure how much???? Any sales person out there, that can assist? I am a Remodeling Contractor. Thanks:blink::shifty:

#2 ·
As with most things, theres more than 1 way of doing it. Some base salary plus mostly commision, mostly salary and a small comission, all commision, commision based on gross profit, commision based on total sale.

In the end you'll have to decide whats best for you and your buisness model.

For me, I am paying 575 per week base plus 6 percent on the ticket and any reimburments for out of pockets like car, cell phone, gas, etc.

I have made my basis on the fact that we dont do anything in the winter but they still gotta eat. At 575 per week that slike 30K per year. 6% of a target of 1 mil in sales is 60K and auto and other expenses wil take them close to 100k. I also pay the 30k for all the other non direct new sale stuff they may need to do, like repeat sales. I can get a monkey to measure and propose. I dont want to pay high commisions on that work.

I currently do it on the ticket amount but I use to do it on the gross profit. The issue we had with that was if we had a problem in the field it was landing on the sales person and it wasnt thier fault so why take it out on them. If the job approved good by me or my super than thats it, we accept it and the sales man gets paid now.

#4 · (Edited)
I am looking to hire a SP. I cannot pay by hour since I don't know what they will bring. I was thinking a %, but not sure how much???? Any sales person out there, that can assist? I am a Remodeling Contractor. Thanks:blink::shifty:

AD:
My 30,000 foot overview is:
  1. Do unto others ...