How Bad Did I Screw Up? - Business - Contractor Talk

How Bad Did I Screw Up?

Old 06-02-2020, 06:41 PM   #1
New Guy

Trade: Carpentry
Rewards Points: 86

How Bad Did I Screw Up?

So yes, I breached my contract and walked. Don't feel good about it, despite having legitimate reasons to do so.

Here's the situation: The client was a referral from a previous customer who I did some interior trim work and door installs for. Nice, upper-class neighborhood that I have a lot of experience in working for other GC's before I became licensed.

Red flags from the beginning which to my fault, I ignored because I was excited about the project, which I won't describe in detail for confidentiality. Total project cost, nearly $6000

Red Flags:

No.1: project was laid out previously by another carpenter, who for vague reasons, also walked. Layout had some obvious issues and was useless to me.

No.2: Client had offered to trade a vehicle to previous carpenter for his work.

No.3: Client insisted on purchasing all materials himself, using a big box CC so that he could defer payments for several months. Obviously this led to a never-ending string of questions regarding materials ("Why did you buy a whole box of screws when you only need half of them?" "If the cabinet box is inside the wall, why does it need to be 3/4" plywood?" You get the picture) Just typing this makes me cringe and I can't forgive myself for allowing such a thing. Throughout the week I was there, he mentioned several times that I may consider downloading a CC app on my phone. My contract, which is as simple as it gets, makes no mention of payment methods unfortunately (currently being addressed along with other issues). I agreed to select materials, then have customer service call him for a phone transaction. During the transaction, I overheard lots of talk about "old accounts", "new accounts", "try this one", try that one".