Figuring Out My Own Labor/Profit Rates???? - Business - Contractor Talk

Figuring Out My Own Labor/Profit Rates????

Old 04-18-2013, 02:34 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Remodeling
Rewards Points: 163
Question

Figuring Out My Own Labor/Profit Rates????

I'm not necessarily wanting a number here (but feel free to suggest some) but more or less I'm wanting to know how to go about deciding how much to charge for my services.

A little about my work/business:

I'm a carpenter and I own the business. I have no employees but I may hire one extra man every now and then if I need it. I'm 25 years old, newly married with everything paid for (house, truck, wife's car, toys) We only have our monthly bills which are pretty minimal.

I do remodeling baths/kitchens ect., small additions, decks, playsets, trim work, home maintenance and repairs, you probably get the picture.

Most carpentry work I do myself but I sub out drywall, electrical, plumbing, roofing, finish concrete, painting and the like.

I live in South Alabama (Dothan) in a town of about 70,000 with smaller towns surrounding. To give you an idea of what some rates are going for around here, residential framing is about $2.50 sq/ft (if you would like to compare that to your area)

Right now when I price out a job I figure my days and charge a labor rate of x $ per day for myself. On top of that I mark up the entire job (materials, subs, my labor, gas, extra for taxes, ect) enough to cover my yearly cost to run my business. I guess how much work I expect to do throughout the year and mark up the job the required percentage. I hope everyone understands that, difficult to explain.

I have a feeling I am charging to little but I have no way of really knowing.

How about some insight, some knowledge from all out there who have been in the game for a while?

Last edited by SailingandSuch; 04-18-2013 at 03:08 PM.