Doing Business In The Eastern States - NY, VT, Etc. - Business - Contractor Talk

Doing Business In The Eastern States - NY, VT, Etc.

Old 07-25-2020, 04:59 PM   #1
New Guy

Trade: Carpentry
Rewards Points: 90

Doing Business In The Eastern States - NY, VT, Etc.

Hi all. I'm a general contractor in California. A little over a year in business, and over 20 years in the trade - remodel finish carpentry mainly but experienced all over.

Strongly considering moving out of the insanity of California for a variety of reasons, and recent life changes have made such a move somewhat plausible, within the next 2-3 years.

I have traveled through all the New England states and like it there a lot! Have always felt a connection to that part of the country. I'm currently looking at Vermont (specifically Brattleboro and surrounding area) as well as upstate New York (Binghamton area).

Hoping to get some insight into what it's like running a contracting business in this part of the country. Topics can include the following but open to anything else:

license requirements (It's my understanding that Vermont does not require a license of general building contractors), and that it is deferred to localities in the case of NY.

What is it like during snow? And how slow do things get during winters?

Wages vs. general cost of living?

Overall quality of life?

Thanks for any input!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-25-2020, 05:22 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: remodeling
Rewards Points: 5,706

Re: Doing Business In The Eastern States - NY, VT, Etc.