Design And Build Partnership Opportunity - Business - Contractor Talk

Design And Build Partnership Opportunity

Old 05-16-2019, 08:46 AM   #1

Trade: General

Design And Build Partnership Opportunity

Hey guys new to the forum, I have a new architect who I’ve been working with recently. I’m a General contractor and have a small crew 4 guys, I’ve built a few home and done tons of higher end renovations.

The architect who is also a friend want to be a design and build firm but want to use my more as a subcontractor with a 5% kick back of the job. My thoughts on the initial offer are no way but it seems to be a large trend of customer preferring the design and build over just a GC.

Unfortunately he doesn’t understand how to be a good GC, hiring the cheapest subs, not loyal to the good ones, timelines off, doesn’t understand the building products being used and costs, doesn’t understand the insurance costs, etc. He needs someone with my experience to make it work but seem he doesn’t understand the value.

My main question is how are these type of partnerships usually structured? Should it be more of a 50/50 or should the build end be weighted in my favor? Would assume he is making a good profit on the plans.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 05-17-2019, 09:46 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: Industrial
Rewards Points: 942

Re: Design And Build Partnership Opportunity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sideman87 View Post