"Busted" - Business - Contractor Talk

"Busted"

Old 07-01-2015, 04:06 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: general contractor
Rewards Points: 1,168

"Busted"

I'm not sure if this is the proper section to post this but I think it is.
I am a NY based contractor all legal and such (or so I thought).
We have just started a big reno job in VT. About a week into it I had a visit from the VT dept of labor, one of their investigators. She threatened to shut me down because I didn't have WC in VT. I explained to her that I didn't know I needed it, the people that work for me are 1099 subs and they want it that way. That info didn't matter to her! I told her I was willing to comply but didn't know where to start. I contacted two local (VT) insurance agents that have both been in the business their entire lives and didn't know how to handle it. Both these agents are in VT. My agent in NY didn't know anything either ( I do have the necessary 2 mil liability in NY)
Short story long and 10K later I now have WC however, she issued us a stop work order yesterday at around 11:00 am even though she knew we had the proper insurances. She had to "verify it with the carrier" so we couldn't work today. At 4:00 pm she sent me an email and then called me to tell me the stop work order had been rescinded.
Of course I had to call the HO's yesterday and tell them what was transpiring, they are understanding as long as it doesn't drag out. I called them back ASAP when I got the news this afternoon.

Now before any of you start ragging on me for not knowing the rules in VT, I plead ignorant. We all have used the 1099 thing at one time or another i'm sure. I won't again.

I am posting this more as a warning to any of you doing business like I was in VT using 1099 subs, in the eyes of VT they are employees plain and simple.

I grew up in VT and do 90% or more of my work in VT, I live 4 miles from the border. Most people know me or of me, and know we do quality work.