A Bit Of Advice Before Taking The Plunge - Business - Contractor Talk

A Bit Of Advice Before Taking The Plunge

Old 04-24-2019, 06:58 PM   #1

Trade: Structural Concrete
Rewards Points: 2

A Bit Of Advice Before Taking The Plunge

I'm 23 years old and I've been working for a large contractor for five years. I'm a foreman now. My job is pretty much doing structural concrete foundations for power plants, paper mills, etc.
Our group size varies from job to job and we move from state to state every 2 years. We excavate, place formwork, rebar, and finish concrete. I an do a bit of everything.
I have experience in all the above things. Well, as much as you could get in five years. I've been very fortunate that the company I work with has given me to opportunity to learn as much as I have.
Our Civil group is one of the best in our company. We always save manhours in every area that we've been. Foundations that have been bid for 19,000 man hours, we've completed in 11,000. All our earned hours get sandbagged and moved to other crafts that need it.

So, to get down to it, I want to stay here in Kentucky and have a go doing concrete with 2-3 other key members of my current group. I have it in my head that we should start with small jobs and go from there. Some of these guys don't speak very good English and are kind of wanting me to take charge of the business side of things. Estimating, talking with clients, etc. All things that are required of my current job.
What are some good tips you could give me? Anything would help. I've been wanting to do this for some time but I haven't because I want to do it right and not rush into things.
Any advice would be great.