Trying To Move Roofing Business To California - Roofing - Contractor Talk

Trying To Move Roofing Business To California

Old 03-30-2019, 11:50 PM   #1

Trade: roofing
Rewards Points: 8

Trying To Move Roofing Business To California

Hello everyone!

I'm planning on moving to California and it looks like it may be difficult to start my business there. I'm a licensed roofer in Colorado with approx. 1 year of experience HOWEVER my employee has over 10 years so I can honestly tell people here we have over a decade of experience and have NEVER had any problems

Looking at CA, I would need 4 years just to get MY license??? Am I reading this correctly??

I thought about forming a LLC, hiring a licensed CA roofer and having him listed as an officer so the LLC can be licensed BUT then someone said the bonding requirements for LLC's are very expensive in CA (I'm NOT bonded here in CO only workers comp). what kind of expenses am i looking at here?

any ideas how to do this? I'm too old to work for someone else and would rather own the business.

thanks!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-31-2019, 11:16 AM   #2
Bubble stick operator

Trade: Carpentry
Rewards Points: 142

Re: Trying To Move Roofing Business To California

Where in California?

And not to be too blunt or harsh, but if I had a license and a guy with one year under his belt approached me and asked me to carry a ton of liability for his work, I'd laugh.

Good luck and everything, but this sounds like a long road ahead. (Plus, working for someone else isn't always sh!tty.)

Advertisement

The Following User Says Thank You to Defenestrate For This Useful Post: