Permit Inspection - Page 2 - Roofing - Contractor Talk

Permit Inspection

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2019, 01:19 AM   #21
Pro
 
Big Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor Grunt
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,340
Rewards Points: 1,976

Re: Permit Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by woodspike View Post
you have to be kidding me. blow it off?


south florida is one of the strictest areas for permitting.
they red-tag your site . totally stop you from all work , or getting a C.O.you`d get nailed my code enforcement . they`d put you in front of the
go to his supervisor.
How do you know OP is in S. FL?
Big Johnson is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Big Johnson For This Useful Post:
MarkJames (02-10-2019)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 02-10-2019, 08:58 AM   #22
Member
 
woodspike's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: miami
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 228

Re: Permit Inspection


i didn`t

i`m just saying to me that would never be an option at all.
they do follow thru here .
the cities and inspectors are very hard nose here.
i had a client call the city and say he didn't think i did my steel right in my columns once
even though they were already inspected , code compliance came out , and made me tear apart my closed up forms ( which were ready for pour) and re-inspected on my dime .
i was in a condo building one year .taking the elevator up, there was an inspector i had to deal with on a job a year previous. i said " hey how you doing ...etc"( big mistake)
he went right to the management office, asked for all the jobs i was doing in the building .
he went to each of my clients homes , and demanded entrance, and took it upon himself to inspect my work , and the entire condo of each client , even areas in the home i did not work on , and nail them on anything that wasn`t to code.
even had an electric inspector come into a condo on a very pricey island.
he was there do the electric final in a kitchen i just finished .
happened to be " Tommy" who i knew since we were 10.
both shook hands , and caught up on old times ( family , friends etc)
then tommy bust our balls on any small infraction .
then on the way out the door, as he walked through the living room he said " whats that!?"
he didn`t like the way the home owner had hooked up here wall-mount t.v..the receptacle was too far so they had an extension cord going to it. he wanted the receptacle moved before he signed off
said " you have to fix that before i came back.
had one cuss at my client. i got him demoted , and then i had to deal with his supervisor each time , who wasn`t happy about having to come out to the field.
tons of stories in miami

you don`t ignore permits here .
woodspike is offline  
Old 02-10-2019, 01:33 PM   #23
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 34,866
Rewards Points: 10,946

Re: Permit Inspection


My last inspector on the big deck asked for a handful of my cards. He even said we're not supposed to do this but worded properly I don't see a problem.

This was after we got into it at the footing stage. It was arguing code. He went to his truck and unlike many inspectors came back and told me I was correct and he was wrong. It's all about how you present things. He and I had a newly found respect for one another after that. At framing any doubt in his mind was erased.


Mike.
_______________

Advertisement

Californiadecks is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Californiadecks For This Useful Post:
Idothat (02-10-2019), rblakes1 (02-12-2019)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you ever pull a permit for a home owner? Cricket General Discussion 25 08-20-2017 01:23 PM
city building permit red_cedar Construction 33 03-23-2015 02:59 PM
Heat Exchanger Inspection Methods Symposium MechAcc HVAC 3 08-15-2009 01:10 PM
How long do you get permit records? deckman22 Decks & Fencing 9 08-05-2009 12:06 AM
Soliciting work from issued permit lists Constructive1 Marketing & Sales 8 03-31-2009 07:53 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?