Permit Inspection - Roofing - Contractor Talk

Permit Inspection

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2018, 10:58 AM   #1
Registered User
 
mygeggie's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 14

Permit Inspection


After we did a tearoff/reroof, City tells us that an inspection was required PRIOR to applying any felt or I&W shield. They wanted to look at all of the plywood decking.
We didn't see this on the permit.
They now want us to tear off our new roof so they can inspect all of the decking.
Anyone run into this?
What did you do???
Thanks.
mygeggie is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-18-2018, 11:56 AM   #2
Fire up the BBQ
 
griz's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 21,274
Rewards Points: 1,130

Re: Permit Inspection


New to the trade?

Always know how deep the water is before you jump in....

Advertisement

__________________
SOME JOBS JUST AREN'T WORTH DOING:
griz is offline  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to griz For This Useful Post:
A&E Exteriors (02-08-2019), greg24k (02-10-2019), TNTSERVICES (06-18-2018)
Old 06-18-2018, 12:01 PM   #3
Registered User
 
mygeggie's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 14

Re: Permit Inspection


nope.........51 years
mygeggie is offline  
   
 
Old 06-18-2018, 12:22 PM   #4
Pro
 
SPG's Avatar
 
Trade: Don't take trades, cash only.
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 650

Re: Permit Inspection


No cover is SOP for new construction around here, but on a reroof? ...and they want you to tear it off? Yikes.
SPG is offline  
Old 06-18-2018, 12:25 PM   #5
Fire up the BBQ
 
griz's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 21,274
Rewards Points: 1,130

Re: Permit Inspection


Does the permit actually call out a deck inspection on a re-roof?
__________________
SOME JOBS JUST AREN'T WORTH DOING:
griz is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to griz For This Useful Post:
greg24k (06-18-2018)
Old 06-18-2018, 12:46 PM   #6
General Contractor
 
greg24k's Avatar
 
Trade: New Home Construction-Additions-Remodeling
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,364
Rewards Points: 7,802

Re: Permit Inspection


Is there an attic? they can inspect plywood from bellow...I doubt they will be climbing on top to inspect the roof.

Around here you have to call for sheeting inspection on new construction, some towns want you to hold off on the roof until the inspection, some towns let you put the roof and they check from bellow during framing inspection.

As existing re-roofing job goes, they never inspected the deck, you call them for a final inspection when they come out they only do a drive by.

Now you no longer need a permit for a re-roofing job on existing single-family homes, only on attached dwellings.

This is the perfect example to find out what inspections they require prior starting any job if you never did work in that town.

Good luck I hope they ease up and let you slide this time.
__________________
I never lost a cent on the jobs I didn't get!
greg24k is offline  
Old 06-18-2018, 03:18 PM   #7
Pro
 
sunkist's Avatar
 
Trade: builder fl cbc
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: bradenton fl
Posts: 2,405
Rewards Points: 178

Re: Permit Inspection


Round these parts its normal to inspect the roof deck, they look for ring shank nails and the "H" clips, but if you missed that inspection you can fill out a "Contractors Affidavit" stating that its built to code.

On a reroof in these parts most times you have to add nails for the deck to be code compliant, roof inspectors may come to the job twice in one day once for the deck and then the dry in.
__________________
Still "Shakin" the tree boss
sunkist is online now  
Old 06-18-2018, 05:34 PM   #8
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 5,318
Rewards Points: 686

Re: Permit Inspection


I know an inspector here who used to demand to have the roofer remove a 4 ft square of new roofing so he could check the plywood, paper and shingle nailing. He would choose the spot of removal. If he was so interested he could have just stopped by when the roof was stripped.

The way they got him to stop was not let him use their ladders to get to the roof.

If your inspector is still adamant about checking offer him the same situation, pick a spot and you remove the shingles.
rrk is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to rrk For This Useful Post:
Rio (06-18-2018)
Old 06-18-2018, 06:19 PM   #9
Pro
 
Donohue Const's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Granada, MN
Posts: 968
Rewards Points: 1,312

Re: Permit Inspection


that's how our inspector is
I couldn't get a hold of him, rain was coming so I papered a garage we built
when he showed up the next day, he wanted it all off so he could inspect our nail. we didn't have any missed nails that you could see from underneath so he said we must not of put enough in.
so basically if we would of done a ****ty job and missed a bunch of trusses when nailing, then he would of know that we were using the right amount of nails!!
I said I wasn't tearing it all off. he let us cut open small 4x4 area on each side so he could check the nails.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
__________________
Ryan
-----------
www.ryandonohueconstruction.com
Donohue Const is online now  
Old 06-18-2018, 06:25 PM   #10
Pro
 
Jay hole's Avatar
 
Trade: General contractor
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 726
Rewards Points: 1,509

Re: Permit Inspection


Tell him to f##k off!!!! Thatís usually pretty effective for me!!!!
Jay hole is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Jay hole For This Useful Post:
greg24k (06-19-2018)
Old 06-18-2018, 09:19 PM   #11
Pro
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,740
Rewards Points: 3,914

Re: Permit Inspection


Ask him is he has proof of liability insurance.
Otherwise he isn't allowed on your roof.
__________________
Trump-The "Con Man's" Con Man.
TimNJ is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to TimNJ For This Useful Post:
rrk (06-19-2018)
Old 06-19-2018, 04:37 AM   #12
General Contractor
 
greg24k's Avatar
 
Trade: New Home Construction-Additions-Remodeling
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,364
Rewards Points: 7,802

Re: Permit Inspection


I remember in the early 80s when inspectors wouldn't get a nice Christmas gift they attempted to climb roofs to bust chops until a few builders kicked the ladder from under them, and I guess the word gets around quick since then I haven't seen anyone climb a roof... Except I was doing a basement remodeling and one inspector came with his own step ladder to check things out above the drop ceiling.
__________________
I never lost a cent on the jobs I didn't get!
greg24k is offline  
Old 12-11-2018, 06:05 PM   #13
New Guy
 
joewelch's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 48

Re: Permit Inspection


Never in 15 years.
joewelch is offline  
Old 02-08-2019, 11:25 PM   #14
Shingler extraordinaire
 
A&E Exteriors's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing, Framing, siding, decks
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 8,192
Rewards Points: 12,714

Re: Permit Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by Donohue Const View Post
that's how our inspector is
I couldn't get a hold of him, rain was coming so I papered a garage we built
when he showed up the next day, he wanted it all off so he could inspect our nail. we didn't have any missed nails that you could see from underneath so he said we must not of put enough in.
so basically if we would of done a ****ty job and missed a bunch of trusses when nailing, then he would of know that we were using the right amount of nails!!
I said I wasn't tearing it all off. he let us cut open small 4x4 area on each side so he could check the nails.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
It's only a ****ty nailing job if you don't make sure you put a nail where you missed.
A&E Exteriors is online now  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to A&E Exteriors For This Useful Post:
Big Johnson (02-09-2019), Donohue Const (02-10-2019), MarkJames (02-10-2019)
Old 02-09-2019, 01:13 AM   #15
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 34,870
Rewards Points: 10,972

Re: Permit Inspection


Tell them the deck has already passed inspection when they built the house.


Mike.
_______________
Californiadecks is offline  
Old 02-09-2019, 01:15 AM   #16
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 34,870
Rewards Points: 10,972

Re: Permit Inspection


If the plans call out a certain nailing schedule then that's where the inspection would need to take place. If the plans don't then the original nailing schedule would apply and its already been inspected.


Mike.
_______________
Californiadecks is offline  
Old 02-09-2019, 07:29 AM   #17
Pro
 
Big Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor Grunt
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,342
Rewards Points: 1,986

Re: Permit Inspection


What are they going to do without the inspection, kick out the occupants? Probably nothing. I’d skip the inspection and move on. Nothing really to lose at this point as the job is done.


A lot of people around here build their own houses, one day I was at a twp office talking to a lady who worked there and she told me that it’s quite common for people building their own houses to never get inspections or occupancy permits. She said they don’t do anything about it. It’s all a formality, as long as you get (BUY) the permit they are happy.
Big Johnson is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Big Johnson For This Useful Post:
SmallTownGuy (02-09-2019)
Old 02-09-2019, 08:44 AM   #18
Member
 
woodspike's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: miami
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 228

Re: Permit Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Johnson View Post
What are they going to do without the inspection, kick out the occupants? Probably nothing. Iíd skip the inspection and move on. Nothing really to lose at this point as the job is done.


A lot of people around here build their own houses, one day I was at a twp office talking to a lady who worked there and she told me that itís quite common for people building their own houses to never get inspections or occupancy permits. She said they donít do anything about it. Itís all a formality, as long as you get (BUY) the permit they are happy.
you have to be kidding me. blow it off?


south florida is one of the strictest areas for permitting.
they red-tag your site . totally stop you from all work , or getting a C.O.you`d get nailed my code enforcement . they`d put you in front of the board i a heart beat .
they do`t forget here.

as far as that inspector , i`d go past him to his supervisor.
tell him to be reasonable, and to come to the site , and pick out a random location or 2 , and have you remove those 4x4 areas like a few guys said.
some inspectors are wanna-be contractors who never made it , and are just a-holes. some just love to push their weight around.
go to his supervisor.
woodspike is offline  
Old 02-09-2019, 09:49 AM   #19
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 34,870
Rewards Points: 10,972

Re: Permit Inspection


The permit would expire. They don't need a C.O. Normally on are reroof.


Mike.
_______________
Californiadecks is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Californiadecks For This Useful Post:
Big Johnson (02-10-2019)
Old 02-09-2019, 11:06 AM   #20
John the Builder
 
SmallTownGuy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter/Builder Professional Painter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 14,332
Rewards Points: 4,192

Re: Permit Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by woodspike View Post

you have to be kidding me.

blow it off?
............
nope, yup.

Advertisement

__________________
All my Life loving Hippie friends turned into soul-sucking Conservatives - or died. Same difference.
"Mornin' ladies, my goodness don't you look happy. Must be cuttin' somebody up pretty good." - Andy Griffiths
SmallTownGuy is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SmallTownGuy For This Useful Post:
Big Johnson (02-10-2019), Texas Wax (02-10-2019)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you ever pull a permit for a home owner? Cricket General Discussion 25 08-20-2017 01:23 PM
city building permit red_cedar Construction 33 03-23-2015 02:59 PM
Heat Exchanger Inspection Methods Symposium MechAcc HVAC 3 08-15-2009 01:10 PM
How long do you get permit records? deckman22 Decks & Fencing 9 08-05-2009 12:06 AM
Soliciting work from issued permit lists Constructive1 Marketing & Sales 8 03-31-2009 07:53 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?