Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

no plywood?

24K views 28 replies 15 participants last post by  PrestigeR&D 
#1 ·
Howdy roofing guys. I'm a painter with a roofing question. My home was built in 1935. It's been added onto and repaired in sections before I owned it. It is now time for a new roof. The current roof looks to have three layers of shingles so a tear of is necessary. I've contacted a local roofer who has been great to deal with. Returned phone call promptly etc. He's provided me with a proposal which seems to address all the important issues. Here's my question. On several sections of the house there is no plywood. There is a layer of cedar shingles that are on top of rows of 1x3's. The 1x3's are spaced about 3 inches apart. Does this need plywood or can the felt paper and shingle be installed over this.

The guy I'm dealing with said everything would be fine, I'm just not sure that he's aware that part of the roof has no plywood. I don't want to pi$$ him off or insult him so I thought I'd ask you guys before addressing it with him.

#3 ·
The roofing system to which you refer was quite common, I did a few in my younger days and a town center that we had here lasted for nearly 100 yrs, albeit with a few leaks during some storms.

I'd really consider a new roofing system in your case. I'll let the real roofers chime in now.

#4 ·
Phin,
I deffinatly wouldn't shingle over the roof boards spaced as you describe, you could plywood over those boards or like mentioned above strip down to rafters and plywood over rafters. What spacing do you have on rafters?

#5 ·
I renail the strapping and ply over. Definitely wouldn't paper over 3" spaces:eek: Rich.

#6 ·