Clean Up Old Cedar Shake - Roofing - Contractor Talk

Clean Up Old Cedar Shake

Old 05-11-2008, 08:07 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Clean Up Old Cedar Shake

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this business please help me out on this one. I'm entering a bid to replace an old cedar roof to asphalt shingle roof, I would like to know what should I be aware before I place a bid, for example, I assume it will take much more work to clean up the old cedar shake then asphalt shingle. Should I charge the client more money? how much more? I charge my client $250-$300 a square for asphalt shingle, what do you think I should charge?

Also, what is the faster way to peel wood shake.

thanks for your help.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 05-11-2008, 09:26 PM   #2
APPLIED RIGHT

Trade: roofing
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Clean Up Old Cedar Shake

Where I'm from we get between 450-500 per sq for cedar conversions.You must resheet as well because it is more than likely skip sheathing for the old shakes.I would also run a drip edge up the gable ends to hide the edge of the plywood/osb.

Advertisement

Old 05-12-2008, 01:27 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Roofing/Siding
Rewards Points: 22