Subfloor Replacement - Framing - Contractor Talk

Subfloor Replacement

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2014, 09:37 PM   #1
Pro
 
mbryan's Avatar
 
Trade: water restoration
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,225
Rewards Points: 552

Subfloor Replacement


Working on a job right now that had T&G over 3/4 ply on 1/2 the main level and double 3/4 ply on the other. Removed all the T&G and the top layer of ply from the other half.

Now the floor has some spongy spots. My opinion is that it needs to be replaced but curious as to if it would work to overlay the existing ply with 3/4 t&g OSB. My fear with that option is squeaks developing where the ply compresses. If it would work to overlay it would be quite a bit less work too...

Opinions?
mbryan is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 04-23-2014, 09:49 PM   #2
Fire up the BBQ
 
griz's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 21,754
Rewards Points: 2,342

Re: Subfloor Replacement


How would you do it in your Mom's house?

Advertisement

__________________
SOME JOBS JUST AREN'T WORTH DOING:
griz is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to griz For This Useful Post:
marcsmith (04-23-2014), wallmaxx (04-27-2014)
Old 04-23-2014, 10:25 PM   #3
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 23,423
Rewards Points: 3,070

Re: Subfloor Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryan View Post

Now the floor has some spongy spots.
If that's rot, it has to be replaced.
hdavis is online now  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to hdavis For This Useful Post:
CarpenterSFO (04-24-2014), shanekw1 (04-23-2014), wallmaxx (04-27-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2014, 10:27 PM   #4
Trailer park boy
 
shanekw1's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Castlegar, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,802
Rewards Points: 371

Re: Subfloor Replacement


I'd find out why it has 'some' spongy spots and go from there.
__________________
"Industry without art is brutality"

shanekw1 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shanekw1 For This Useful Post:
CarpenterSFO (04-24-2014), wallmaxx (04-27-2014)
Old 04-24-2014, 09:36 PM   #5
Pro
 
mbryan's Avatar
 
Trade: water restoration
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,225
Rewards Points: 552

Re: Subfloor Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by griz
How would you do it in your Mom's house?
Do it for free and ask for lunch...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdavis
If that's rot, it has to be replaced.
Yes, was wet for somewhere around a month.

Felt it needed replaced but feel the adjuster will feel otherwise so I just wanted some other perspective before discussing it.
mbryan is offline  
Old 04-24-2014, 11:00 PM   #6
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 23,423
Rewards Points: 3,070

Re: Subfloor Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryan View Post
Felt it needed replaced but feel the adjuster will feel otherwise so I just wanted some other perspective before discussing it.
Grab a screwdriver, and if you can stick it through, I don't see how an adjuster could argue.
hdavis is online now  
Old 05-10-2014, 03:17 PM   #7
Registered User
 
astromco's Avatar
 
Trade: Framing
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6

Re: Subfloor Replacement


What is spongy? The old existing ply or the structural joist? If it is rotted joist joist definitely replace. If it is rotted sub floor, just cut that area out if you are just going to lay new 3/4 over the top. Personally I would rip all the old out and replace with new but if the adjuster won't allow the funding then you need to document, document, document and take a lot of pics to CYA going forward. As far as you concern of floor squeaks you need to use an abundant amount of glue. Higher end floor glue. Spending more money on glue up front is cheaper than coming back to fix floor squeaks. Do not use any nails! Only screw to attach new sub floor. I would screw down existing sub floor as well prior to overlaying the new.

Advertisement

astromco is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?