Opinions Needed - Framing - Contractor Talk

Opinions Needed

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2019, 04:58 PM   #1
Pro
 
nickelec's Avatar
 
Trade: professional licensed electrician
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 390

Opinions Needed


So they just finished first floor addition on the back of my house we plan to go up 2 stories to meet the existing roof line

Due to city codes I needed to have a setback off the neighbors property line there for not being able to build as wide as the existing foot print (very frustrating)!! Any way my question is in regards to the roof line

I'm not sure what would look best do I

A. build the right side wall on the 2nd floor a bit higher to match existing roof line and have a bigger soffit on that one side or

B. just have the roof come off a different slope on that one side this creating a valley I've attached some pics so you can better visualize my situation

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nickelec is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 02-03-2019, 06:42 PM   #2
Pro
 
Rooster Cogburn's Avatar
 
Trade: Master carpenter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Lone Jack
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 264

Re: Opinions Needed


Do you have any more pictures? That is not much to go on.

Advertisement

Rooster Cogburn is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 06:43 PM   #3
Pro
 
nickelec's Avatar
 
Trade: professional licensed electrician
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Opinions Needed


Not really off that angle

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nickelec is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2019, 06:58 PM   #4
Pro
 
Big Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor Grunt
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,761
Rewards Points: 3,288

Re: Opinions Needed


Over hangs are usually included in setback requirements so I’m guessing you’re not going to get away with A.
Big Johnson is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 06:59 PM   #5
Pro
 
nickelec's Avatar
 
Trade: professional licensed electrician
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Opinions Needed


Not included here I'm free to do either or I just cant picture what would look better

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nickelec is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 07:25 PM   #6
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Rewards Points: 2,410

Re: Opinions Needed


If I understand your question correctly, I would make all walls the same height and all roofs the same pitch. something like this:


../\
./\ \
/..\.\
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 07:35 PM   #7
Pro
 
nickelec's Avatar
 
Trade: professional licensed electrician
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Opinions Needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Johnson View Post
If I understand your question correctly, I would make all walls the same height and all roofs the same pitch. something like this:


../\
./\ \
/..\.\
So where the set back is the soffit would jog.in u wouldn't extend the soffit to meet the existing facia board

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nickelec is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 07:40 PM   #8
Pro
 
Big Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor Grunt
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,761
Rewards Points: 3,288

Re: Opinions Needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by nickelec View Post
So where the set back is the soffit would jog.in u wouldn't extend the soffit to meet the existing facia board

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
I would do it like BJ says. Then do an eyebrow eve to connect old roof to new or just dead end the new roof/eve into the old wall (my first choice). Leave old roof alone.
Big Johnson is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Big Johnson For This Useful Post:
B.Johnson (02-03-2019)
Old 02-03-2019, 07:40 PM   #9
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Rewards Points: 2,410

Re: Opinions Needed


Again, assuming I understand your situation...

I think that the left wall is straight, and the only offset is on the right wall. If that's the case, your ridges shouldn't line up because you have a shorter span on the new part. You will have a partial gable wall over the new roof. If all that is true, I'll draw you a better picture.
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 07:42 PM   #10
Pro
 
nickelec's Avatar
 
Trade: professional licensed electrician
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Opinions Needed


That's true correct left Wall is straight with the existing house right wall is set back


Somebody had mentioned having a large soffit on that right side I could put some lighting in or whatever but I couldn't Invision it with having to build a small knee wall on the attic to meet the roof rafters

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nickelec is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 08:03 PM   #11
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Rewards Points: 2,410

Re: Opinions Needed


You could do that, but I wouldn't care for the look.
Attached Thumbnails
Opinions needed-roof.jpg  
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 08:04 PM   #12
Pro
 
nickelec's Avatar
 
Trade: professional licensed electrician
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Opinions Needed


Can you draw it the other way looking from the ground that's amazing ty I was searching Google for that image for a while

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nickelec is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 08:11 PM   #13
Pro
 
nickelec's Avatar
 
Trade: professional licensed electrician
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Opinions Needed


Or an image reflecting the wall height on the right being higher that's what I can't visualize

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nickelec is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 08:39 PM   #14
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Rewards Points: 2,410

Re: Opinions Needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by nickelec View Post
can you draw it the other way looking from the ground that's amazing ty i was searching google for that image for a while

sent from my sm-g965u using tapatalk
... . . . ...
Attached Thumbnails
Opinions needed-roof.jpg  
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 08:40 PM   #15
Pro
 
nickelec's Avatar
 
Trade: professional licensed electrician
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Opinions Needed


How about woth extended soffit

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nickelec is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 08:54 PM   #16
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Rewards Points: 2,410

Re: Opinions Needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by nickelec View Post
or an image reflecting the wall height on the right being higher that's what i can't visualize

sent from my sm-g965u using tapatalk
... . . . ...
Attached Thumbnails
Opinions needed-roof.jpg  
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 08:56 PM   #17
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Rewards Points: 2,410

Re: Opinions Needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by nickelec View Post
How about woth extended soffit

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Have a little patience, I'm watching the game, ordering truck parts, and doing architectural design all at the same time.
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 08:58 PM   #18
Pro
 
nickelec's Avatar
 
Trade: professional licensed electrician
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Opinions Needed


Lol ty I appreciate it games kind of slow

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
nickelec is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 09:12 PM   #19
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Rewards Points: 2,410

Re: Opinions Needed


Obviously I don't know what your floor plan is but if I were going to have a large overhang like that then I would want a reason for it. As we like to say "For a little bit more..."
Attached Thumbnails
Opinions needed-roof.jpg  
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 09:14 PM   #20
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Rewards Points: 2,410

Re: Opinions Needed


The deck probably won't work with your setback.

Advertisement

__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get any and all Columbia Forest Products at Home Depot if needed TBFGhost Carpentry 15 01-02-2013 09:31 PM
Your opinions on buying and selling equipment cbscreative Business 7 03-10-2011 01:37 PM
Price for Fill / Garage Slab Prep -- Opinions? slr2974 Excavation & Site Work 9 06-17-2009 09:22 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?