Gauging Rafters And Joists - Framing - Contractor Talk

Gauging Rafters And Joists

Old 01-22-2012, 10:17 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: General & Electrical Contracting
Rewards Points: 432

Gauging Rafters And Joists

I did a search and couldn't find anything on this subject. Maybe it's called something else. I stopped by to talk to the framer I've been using for several years this week on a job (not mine) and his cut man was cutting joists and "gauging" the middle where the stiffback would go. They do the same for rafters where a purlin will be. They have a homemede go-no-go gauge they use to check each rafter or joist at the point where the stiffback or purlin will go. If the gauge won't fit, they hit the top of the joist or bottom of the rafter with a portable power planer. The purpose of this is to keep a board that is slightly too tall from causing a bump in the ceiling or roof. If any are too shallow (detected by using a string - similar to the way one lines walls), they drive a shim between the stiffback and joist or purlin and rafter. Anybody else ever seen that? I've used several framers over the years and these guys are the only ones I've ever seen do that.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-22-2012, 10:21 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: Framing Contractor
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Gauging Rafters And Joists

Quote:
Originally Posted by txgencon