Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

garage roof framing question

6K views 20 replies 9 participants last post by  cmansmith 
#1 ·
I'm a liscensed Plumber, not a Carpenter, so i need help with this one. I had my garage roof collapse after a heavy snow in March, I live in N.E. Ohio. Garage is approx 20x20 and has a flat roof with an eve, previous roof framing was 2x6's running front to back seperated and nailed to a triple 2x6 running side to side at center. I hired a friend to take on the job and his idea is using 2x8's running side to side, 24 oc, with no center support beam and decking with 5/8's ply. Does this sound sufficient, I don't believe it does, but i'm not a Carpenter. We salvaged sidewalls and wall framing, backwall will be replaced.. Thanx

#2 ·
I can't engineer it from here
sight unseen, but your buddy
isn't doing any better, and he
is there.
20' 2X8's 24"oc for a flat roof
with your snow loads is asking
for more of the same.
You need to hire someone
who knows how to do it right.:thumbsup:

#4 ·
welcome to the site, maybe i am missing something, the original collapse does not make sense. where did it fail? if you had a triple 2x6 installed properly spliting the span, your 2x6 rafters are only spanning 10 ft . i would have used 2x8 or a 2x10 triple, but where did it fail exactly?

#6 ·
wa wa wa