Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House. - Framing - Contractor Talk

Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2007, 10:26 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


I'm new to the site and was hoping you guys could help me out a little. I have a old house(1946) that was originally a summer house back in the day. I'm slowly fixing it up, new windows, siding doors, etc. I'm now wanting to change my existing hip roof to a gable roof. I will be doing most of the work myself with the help of a friend of mine who is a carpenter, a young guy but very knowledgeable. I am a electrician so I know a little about construction, probably just enough to get myself into trouble. The house is approx. 45'X27', one story but with a basement. One long side of the house is approx. 15' to the top plate, the other side is approx. 8'(above grade). The building dept. told me that as long as the new rafters are tied into the ceiling joists and I use collar ties every 4' I'm good. Obviously I need the correct rafter size and such, but is he right? Are there any hidden snakes I should be worrying about? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
P.S. The house is in NY, about 40mi. north of the city.
loogout1 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-04-2007, 10:31 PM  
Pro
 
osborn's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Home Improvement Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Cant you overlay the gable onto the hip roof?

Advertisement

osborn is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 10:43 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Do you mean just continue the ridge out to the end of the house? The pitch is real low, plus they put a addition on the back some time ago, and added a second part to the existing roof, which is also hip like and would not center up with a ridge "common" to the rest of the house. A real abortion. So I figured a complete rip off would be the easiest.
loogout1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2007, 10:44 PM  
Pro
 
K2's Avatar
 
Trade: Colorado master electrician, EC, B-1 GC
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado Front Range
Posts: 2,603
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Quote:
The building dept. told me that as long as the new rafters are tied into the ceiling joists and I use collar ties every 4' I'm good.
That sounds about right to me but i think i would let that part out to some area pros because they will be able to close it up faster than an electrician. If it is just for aesthetics it can be done as an overbuild. If you are looking to add living space, the whole thing should get the eyeball of an engineer or a very knowledgeable framer/carpenter. In my area I would need an engineer's stamp to do that.
K2 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 10:45 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


The existing roof is 2x4 with tongue and groove slats, knee wall supports in attic and sagging pretty good in certain spots.
loogout1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 10:46 PM  
Pro
 
osborn's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Home Improvement Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


So your tearing it all
off? Changing the pitch?
osborn is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 10:47 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


The build. dept. told me that if its $20k and under, it doesnt have to be stamped by a arch. I have a guy who works for a arch. drawing up the plans for me.
loogout1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 10:47 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Quote:
Originally Posted by osborn View Post
So your tearing it all
off? Changing the pitch?
That was my plan.
loogout1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 10:49 PM  
Pro
 
osborn's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Home Improvement Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Leave the CJs and brace the walls. to keep them straight.
osborn is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 10:52 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


I was planning on leaving the cjs. Would the walls need to be braced if the cjs were left tied in to the plates
loogout1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 10:55 PM  
Pro
 
osborn's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Home Improvement Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


At least on one side. So both walls dont bow the same direction.
osborn is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 10:58 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


There is a supporting wall that runs the center of the house that supports the cjs.Does this do any thing as far as bracing goes?
loogout1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:00 PM  
Pro
 
osborn's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Home Improvement Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


It helps. When framing, I brace every 6-8 feet.
osborn is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:03 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


When you say brace, you mean run say a 2x4 from the top plate on a diag. down to the floor, correct?
loogout1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:05 PM  
Pro
 
osborn's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Home Improvement Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


yes. Are you keeping the walls plastered?
osborn is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:07 PM  
Pro
 
K2's Avatar
 
Trade: Colorado master electrician, EC, B-1 GC
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado Front Range
Posts: 2,603
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Quote:
Originally Posted by loogout1 View Post
When you say brace, you mean run say a 2x4 from the top plate on a diag. down to the floor, correct?
I think you should go wire somebody's house and let some carps do your roof.
K2 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:08 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Yeah, unfortunately the walls in the living room are freshly rocked, crown molding, paint, etc.
loogout1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:08 PM  
Pro
 
osborn's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Home Improvement Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Yea. I agree. Barter.
osborn is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:11 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Quote:
Originally Posted by K2eoj View Post
I think you should go wire somebody's house and let some carps do your roof.
Yeah, I think you're probably right. I'm picking up the plans fri. Then I'm gonna see what the material cost is gonna be. I would love to just be able to pay someone to do it. I dont mind doing **** like this but....
loogout1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:13 PM  
 
loogout1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Framing Of Gable Roof On Existing House.


Any idea what the labor end of something like this would run?? I really have no clue what kind of #s to expect.

Advertisement

loogout1 is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torch down(flat roof) leaks BAD...can you give advice ASAP? Detail Guy Roofing 22 01-05-2013 06:42 PM
Frost inside the attic? SOSSW Roofing 22 04-03-2009 07:26 AM
A roof leak AbeBarker Roofing 8 02-18-2007 03:13 PM
Slippery (dry) rubber roof ATH Roofing 3 11-01-2006 12:05 PM
Pricing question for Baltimore rowhome roof AmateursGuide Roofing 11 11-10-2005 03:15 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?