Opinions Needed On Design - Finish Carpentry - Contractor Talk

Opinions Needed On Design

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2011, 08:38 PM   #1
Pro
 
oldfrt's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northwest Connecticut
Posts: 2,565
Rewards Points: 94

Opinions Needed On Design


just tore down a aluminum carport(10"x20") for a client and need to
build a wooden replacement in the same foot print because
of side yard setback restrictions.
There are 4 existing 10"cement piers that I am considering
reusing to cut costs and keep from disturbing blacktop and
existing sidewalk.
The piers are 12' apart.
I need to have the roof line at 20' so am thinking about
canting the roof 2' past the sides, and having the outside posts 16' apart.
The lower beam would be at ground level.
The four "legs" are where the piers are located.
I know it looks weird,but with the right size beams,Id imagine it would work?
Yes/No
Attached Thumbnails
Opinions Needed on Design-marianacport.jpg  

Last edited by oldfrt; 12-15-2011 at 08:44 PM.
oldfrt is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-16-2011, 08:39 PM   #2
Pro
 
oldfrt's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northwest Connecticut
Posts: 2,565
Rewards Points: 94

Re: Opinions Needed On Design


It can be done,I figured it out.Not too bad looking,I guess.
Just looked over some Covered bridge designs and found what they
call a "Queenpost Truss"Since its used to carry the weight of a car,
I imagine it will carry any snow load we have here.
Attached Thumbnails
Opinions Needed on Design-untitledgmgfmzdfnb.jpg  

Advertisement

oldfrt is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 08:43 PM   #3
KemoSabe
 
loneframer's Avatar
 
Trade: residential framing/siding/general carpentry
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vineland, New Jersey
Posts: 14,233
Rewards Points: 12,218

Re: Opinions Needed On Design


The truss will keep it from racking from end to end, but I don't see much to keep it from falling over sideways.
__________________
__________________________________




"Walking the fine line between production and perfection"




__________________________________
loneframer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2011, 08:48 PM   #4
Pro
 
oldfrt's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northwest Connecticut
Posts: 2,565
Rewards Points: 94

Re: Opinions Needed On Design


Quote:
Originally Posted by loneframer View Post
The truss will keep it from racking from end to end, but I don't see much to keep it from falling over sideways.
Haaaaaaaaaaaaa!
I was just happy to figure how to utilize the existing piers,the drawing isn't finished yet!!!


I'll be putting some knee bracing in................................
oldfrt is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 09:16 PM   #5
Pro
 
oldfrt's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northwest Connecticut
Posts: 2,565
Rewards Points: 94

Re: Opinions Needed On Design


Here ya go Lone,I threw a couple in ,I was just getting tired of trying to get it
all done tonight.
I basically wanted opinions on trying to use the existing piers,I figured the
rest of the braces would just muddy up the drawing.
Attached Thumbnails
Opinions Needed on Design-untitledgmgfmzdfnc.jpg  
oldfrt is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zoning design flashheatingand HVAC 3 05-30-2010 08:24 PM
These design shows do more harm than good to contractors! BCConstruction General Discussion 14 10-08-2009 07:07 PM
New Design For Business Cards And Flyers CF Construction Marketing & Sales 20 04-08-2009 10:42 AM
opinions on design programs hanco Technology 7 11-18-2008 05:29 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?