Cherry Built-in Bookshelves - Finish Carpentry - Contractor Talk

Cherry Built-in Bookshelves

Old 09-29-2010, 04:09 PM   #1

Trade: Builder/Carpenter
Rewards Points: 10

Cherry Built-in Bookshelves

I'm about to bid on a built-in. Client has an architect drawing. I've done lots of built-ins but always painted. this is a wall of cherry shelving with cherry base cabinets and a granite top.

Now I have to decide how to approach this:

1) I could build out of cherry stock and cherry veneered plywood and order cabinet doors and then stain myself. I am not that experienced with staining, I've built desks, stereo cabinets, etc, all stained, for my own house, but not for clients. I don't have a cabinet shop.

2) Go thru my usual kitchen cabinet supplier. Problem is he's really a distributor and by the time I mark-up on top of his mark-up either the price will be too high or my margin will be tiny.

3) Work directly with a cabinet shop where I can order finished/stained shelving, crown, doors, etc and then I build it on site. Does Home Depot have suppliers that will provide this?

I actually did a wall of built-ins: book shelves, fireplace mantel, tv out of Ikea parts upon a client's request. She was thrilled and it was profitable for me. I'm pretty sure these clients would not go for anything Ikea.

thanks for any ideas

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 09-29-2010, 04:27 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: LI,NY designer, new homes, renovation work, concre
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Cherry Built-in Bookshelves