Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews - Marketing & Sales - Contractor Talk

Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2014, 05:04 PM   #1
Pro
 
MEL's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Detroit
Posts: 825
Rewards Points: 516

Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


I have a prospect that wants an estimate for a roof and some other work. During the initial conversation on the phone she mentioned that she had some work done a refrigerator repair man, and she was not happy with the service that she got. She said she went on every website she could find to post a negative review about the guy.

Iím confident that I can provide excellent service so Iím not sure if I should worry about it. On the other hand, once in a great while you run into someone that is not going to be happy no matter how good you are.

I donít know the details of what happened, so at this point I donít know if she is the problem or the repair man was the problem.

Iím supposed to call her back to set an appointment for next week. Iím wondering what your thoughts are about getting involved with a customer that has already made it known that she will exact revenge on someone that she feels has not given her good service.

Iíve never had a negative review posted and I donít want this lady to be my first.
__________________
MEL
MEL is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 08-27-2014, 05:09 PM   #2
I'm The BOSS
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Trade: builder / remodeler
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spencer, Ma
Posts: 1,904
Rewards Points: 4,733

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


I have three points to make

STAY AWAY.................
STAY AWAY.................
STAY AWAY.................

unless you starving for work and are a gambling man

Advertisement

__________________
We'll give your home a NEW IMAGE
New Image Construction & Design
New image Construction.com
Facebook
jaydee is offline  
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to jaydee For This Useful Post:
66 Shelby (08-27-2014), A&E Exteriors (08-31-2014), aptpupil (08-28-2014), CarpenterSFO (08-27-2014), hdavis (08-27-2014), jhark123 (08-27-2014), Metro M & L (08-27-2014), rselectric1 (08-28-2014), Spencer (08-27-2014), Tom Struble (08-31-2014), youngbuck (08-28-2014)
Old 08-27-2014, 05:09 PM   #3
.....
 
Frank Castle's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 952

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


It's been posted many times.
Your gut is telling you something. Otherwise you wouldn't be asking. Follow it.
__________________
Adapt, Improvise, Overcome.
Frank Castle is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Frank Castle For This Useful Post:
clydebusa (09-02-2014), TNTRenovate (08-27-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2014, 06:02 PM   #4
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 36,974
Rewards Points: 19,948

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by MEL View Post
I have a prospect that wants an estimate for a roof and some other work. During the initial conversation on the phone she mentioned that she had some work done a refrigerator repair man, and she was not happy with the service that she got. She said she went on every website she could find to post a negative review about the guy.

Iím confident that I can provide excellent service so Iím not sure if I should worry about it. On the other hand, once in a great while you run into someone that is not going to be happy no matter how good you are.

I donít know the details of what happened, so at this point I donít know if she is the problem or the repair man was the problem.

Iím supposed to call her back to set an appointment for next week. Iím wondering what your thoughts are about getting involved with a customer that has already made it known that she will exact revenge on someone that she feels has not given her good service.

Iíve never had a negative review posted and I donít want this lady to be my first.
This is why we go in business for ourselves. She's already looking for things that are wrong and you haven't done any work yet. It would of been different had she of said I will go on every site I can and give you good reviews if you do a good job. That's a completly different mindset
Calidecks is online now  
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Calidecks For This Useful Post:
A&E Exteriors (08-31-2014), aptpupil (08-28-2014), CarpenterSFO (08-27-2014), clydebusa (09-02-2014), CyFree (08-28-2014), KAP (08-27-2014), Metro M & L (08-27-2014)
Old 08-27-2014, 06:03 PM   #5
Pro
 
mikeswoods's Avatar
 
Trade: interior remodeling
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kane Co. Illinois
Posts: 2,716
Rewards Points: 2,664

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


One person in every 100 is an idiot---you have found that person.
mikeswoods is offline  
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to mikeswoods For This Useful Post:
66 Shelby (08-27-2014), A&E Exteriors (08-31-2014), aptpupil (08-28-2014), Calidecks (08-27-2014), CarpenterSFO (08-27-2014), DMJCarpentry (08-31-2014), Metro M & L (08-27-2014), Spencer (08-27-2014), tedanderson (08-27-2014)
Old 08-27-2014, 07:00 PM   #6
Pro
 
pappagor's Avatar
 
Trade: general contractor
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: mn mayo
Posts: 1,307
Rewards Points: 32

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


do the right thing run real fast
pappagor is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to pappagor For This Useful Post:
CarpenterSFO (08-27-2014)
Old 08-27-2014, 07:05 PM   #7
Pro
 
sunkist's Avatar
 
Trade: builder fl cbc
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: bradenton fl
Posts: 2,588
Rewards Points: 666

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


a medical problem is in your future that needs all of your time, i wish i could help but!
sunkist is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sunkist For This Useful Post:
66 Shelby (08-27-2014), A&E Exteriors (08-31-2014)
Old 08-27-2014, 08:20 PM   #8
Pro
 
littlefred811's Avatar
 
Trade: Hardwood Flooring
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 475

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


Price it so high you can do the job three times. The have jobs in line before her. If she waits, tell her you went out of business.
littlefred811 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to littlefred811 For This Useful Post:
slowsol (08-28-2014)
Old 08-27-2014, 08:31 PM   #9
Head Light Bulb Changer
 
66 Shelby's Avatar
 
Trade: Renovation/Home Repair
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 847
Rewards Points: 216

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


Price it high (not too high, maybe 30% more) and tell her you're booked until February-March, but "That roof really needs attention. I suggest you get someone (else) to repair it sooner." She sounds like a nut-job and your instinct is telling you to decline the work.
66 Shelby is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 66 Shelby For This Useful Post:
A&E Exteriors (08-31-2014)
Old 08-27-2014, 08:39 PM   #10
The Ultimate Wire Hider
 
tedanderson's Avatar
 
Trade: A/V & Home Theater Installation
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PG County MD
Posts: 4,455
Rewards Points: 2,116

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


When someone tells you that they exhibit crazy behavior, believe them.
__________________
I'm always looking for the answer to my troubles at the bottom of a paint can.
tedanderson is offline  
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to tedanderson For This Useful Post:
aptpupil (08-28-2014), Chopsaw Chick (09-04-2014), CyFree (08-29-2014), dprimc (09-02-2014), fourcornerhome (08-28-2014), Metro M & L (08-27-2014), mikeswoods (08-31-2014), slowsol (08-28-2014)
Old 08-27-2014, 08:42 PM   #11
Hair Splitter
 
TNTRenovate's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 18,265
Rewards Points: 1,144

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
This is why we go in business for ourselves. She's already looking for things that are wrong and you haven't done any work yet. It would of been different had she of said I will go on every site I can and give you good reviews if you do a good job. That's a completly different mindset
Yep, she is already threatening you with bad reviews. Like it was said, trust your gut and walk away before you tie yourself to this one.
__________________
Tried & True on Facebook
Tried & True Website
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarpenterSFO View Post
You ask for your money frequently, and you collect it quickly, else you stop working immediately.
TNTRenovate is online now  
Old 08-28-2014, 02:19 PM   #12
Marketing Consultant
 
CyFree's Avatar
 
Trade: Website Development and Lead Generation
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Seymour, CT
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 98

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


I wouldn't recommend pricing it too high either, as some in this forum suggested.

I've seen (and dealt with) people posting bad reviews about a company because they didn't like the price.

Reviews are a great tool for both companies and consumers, but unfortunately some people use it to bully service providers into compliance with the most unreasonable requests.

If you do decide to work for this person, I strongly suggest that you have everything well documented and signed.
CyFree is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to CyFree For This Useful Post:
concretemasonry (08-28-2014)
Old 08-28-2014, 04:04 PM   #13
Hair Splitter
 
TNTRenovate's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 18,265
Rewards Points: 1,144

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


That's even better. You can get rid if the cheap arses before they even bother you.

I price jobs high all of the time. Any price could be construed as too high. Don't let that scare you.
__________________
Tried & True on Facebook
Tried & True Website
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarpenterSFO View Post
You ask for your money frequently, and you collect it quickly, else you stop working immediately.
TNTRenovate is online now  
Old 08-28-2014, 04:57 PM   #14
Pro
 
MEL's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Detroit
Posts: 825
Rewards Points: 516

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


I decided not to pursue this opportunity. The roof job entailed removing bad plywood and blowing in insulation. I'm sure by the time we got done some flowers or something would get damaged.

I don't want to deal with someone that goes online to get revenge. We don't get very many complaints. If we make a mistake then we fix the problem. I expect the customer to communicate with me directly if there are issues that need to be resolved not to go on the internet to get revenge.
__________________
MEL
MEL is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 06:02 PM   #15
Pro
 
GTX63's Avatar
 
Trade: Contracting
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southern Midwest
Posts: 823
Rewards Points: 694

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


Good for you. Not all that glitters is gold.
GTX63 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 07:21 PM   #16
Particulate Filter
 
Metro M & L's Avatar
 
Trade: Flooring
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,402
Rewards Points: 1,424

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by tedanderson View Post
When someone tells you that they exhibit crazy behavior, believe them.
That's my new signature.
__________________
"A smart man learns from his mistakes; a wise man learns from the mistakes of others."

www.portlandhardwoodrefinishing.com
Metro M & L is offline  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Metro M & L For This Useful Post:
A&E Exteriors (08-31-2014), fourcornerhome (08-28-2014), tedanderson (08-31-2014)
Old 08-28-2014, 07:31 PM   #17
Pro
 
rselectric1's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Electrical Contractor and Remodeler
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 11,791
Rewards Points: 898

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


Another echo for drop this one.

Don't price it high because she will post that you are expensive and a rip off artist.
Don't cut off communications or neglect to return phone calls because she will post that you are unresponsive to her after "repeated calls:

Just respond that you are too busy right now to properly handle the job for her. Period.
__________________
220...221...whatever it takes!
rselectric1 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to rselectric1 For This Useful Post:
tenon0774 (08-28-2014)
Old 08-28-2014, 07:41 PM   #18
Pro
 
WBailey1041's Avatar
 
Trade: Gutters
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 815
Rewards Points: 1,581

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


I'm late here but google review ransom.
WBailey1041 is online now  
Old 08-28-2014, 08:32 PM   #19
Pro
 
libbycop's Avatar
 
Trade: contractor
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Nj
Posts: 191
Rewards Points: 415

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


Why take a chance with someone like that? You donet need a client like that

Besides i wouldn't be comfortable working in that environment

Walk away...
libbycop is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 08:38 PM   #20
Hair Splitter
 
TNTRenovate's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 18,265
Rewards Points: 1,144

Re: Prospect That Posts Negative Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by rselectric1 View Post
Another echo for drop this one.

Don't price it high because she will post that you are expensive and a rip off artist.
Don't cut off communications or neglect to return phone calls because she will post that you are unresponsive to her after "repeated calls:

Just respond that you are too busy right now to properly handle the job for her. Period.
She'll then post a bad review that you are a poor communicator. She'll say that you should have told her during the visit that you were booked and not wasted her time waiting for an estimate.

These kinds of customers will find and twist anything to post a bad review.

Advertisement

__________________
Tried & True on Facebook
Tried & True Website
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarpenterSFO View Post
You ask for your money frequently, and you collect it quickly, else you stop working immediately.
TNTRenovate is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lsl porch posts JAH Carpentry 2 07-30-2014 05:50 PM
Mount Prospect contractor E&D_Remodeling New Member Introductions 1 04-06-2013 09:29 PM
setting deck posts bluebird5 Decks & Fencing 6 06-02-2011 08:08 PM
How To - Finding New Posts Nathan Contractor Talk Tutorials - How To Use This Site 12 05-08-2008 11:59 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?