Opinion On Facebook, Maybe Instagram - Page 2 - Marketing & Sales - Contractor Talk

Opinion On Facebook, Maybe Instagram

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2018, 07:04 AM   #21
Kitchen Cabinets NJ
 
aquakbd's Avatar
 
Trade: Kitchen Cabinets
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 528

Re: Opinion On Facebook, Maybe Instagram


If you can go with Wordpress, go with it. We have three websites and they are all in Wordpress. Great for SEO and customization.
aquakbd is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-12-2018, 09:20 PM   #22
New Guy
 
wattsittoyou's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 58

Re: Opinion On Facebook, Maybe Instagram


Customers like helpful tips and tricks, stories about your jobs, doing polls and guessing games, testimonials, trivia, behind the scenes stuff like what you did for lunch and funny stuff that happens on the way to work. There's a bunch of ideas here. Just treat it like a safe for work version of the funny and interesting stuff you'd share with your friends and family during the day with some promotions and information about what you do mixed in.
wattsittoyou is offline  
Old 05-13-2018, 06:39 AM   #23
John the Builder
 
SmallTownGuy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter/Builder Professional Painter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 16,151
Rewards Points: 8,248

Re: Opinion On Facebook, Maybe Instagram


Those that service a local market - absolutely Facebook matters.

In this past week, 3 of the small town communities I am a member of on FB, I answered requests for recommendations for:

Plumber
Dog Boarding
Barber Shop
Brick Mason

They each had a FB page. So when I mentioned the name, their FB page gets linked.

Now, other FB members click "like" on my post, or repeat what I did.

I can't remember the contact details & too lazy to look them up - but the existing FB page that gets linked solves all that.

This is what "Word Of Mouth" looks like in the 2nd decade of the 21st century.

Another example: I have 2 realtor friends - sisters actually - that requested a recommendation for a photographer & aerials for properties listings.

I know & like a local outfit that specializes in drone & realtor photography. I looked them up on LinkedIn and forwarded the link.
__________________
All my Life loving Hippie friends turned into soul-sucking Conservatives - or died. Same difference.
"Mornin' ladies, my goodness don't you look happy. Must be cuttin' somebody up pretty good." - Andy Griffiths
SmallTownGuy is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to SmallTownGuy For This Useful Post:
NYgutterguy (05-13-2018)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-14-2018, 09:57 AM   #24
New Guy
 
Lee Sadd's Avatar
 
Trade: Construction Safety
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Ramsgate, UK
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 122

Re: Opinion On Facebook, Maybe Instagram


I feel like the most underestimated benefit of social media is trust. People can see your reviews, customers, critics, recent projects etc...it makes you look more like a functioning, successful business than a static webpage ever could.

With so much choice out there, people go a lot more on image than they used to with traditional word of mouth or ads. They will hear about you first, then look you up online to see what you're about.
Lee Sadd is offline  
Old 05-17-2018, 09:22 AM   #25
New Guy
 
Cantifix's Avatar
 
Trade: Structural Glazing
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: London
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 186

Re: Opinion On Facebook, Maybe Instagram


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Sadd View Post
I feel like the most underestimated benefit of social media is trust. People can see your reviews, customers, critics, recent projects etc...it makes you look more like a functioning, successful business than a static webpage ever could.

With so much choice out there, people go a lot more on image than they used to with traditional word of mouth or ads. They will hear about you first, then look you up online to see what you're about.
We'd agree with Lee on this one - credibility is one of the most important benefits of social at the moment. It's so hard to get new followers and engagement, but often people will only look at your social media after they have already done some research/are considering hiring you, and it acts kind of like reinforcement: "I'm thinking about hiring ***, I wonder if they're on Facebook..."

If they look and you're active, then you've ticked the right boxes. Even if you don't have loads of page likes, reviews etc, just a handful - along with fresh updates showing you take pride in your work, recent projects etc. is often enough to sway them.

On the flipside, imagine if you were considering a contractor/company you've heard mentioned somewhere, then checking their Facebook/Instagram/Twitter, and the last thing they posted was in 2011 - wouldn't look good!

Advertisement

Cantifix is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Facebook now enters Lead Gen business too MOTB Online Leads Services 12 04-18-2016 06:22 AM
Will You Be My Facebook Friend? instock Business 13 12-11-2014 01:06 PM
Facebook Promotions Ideas Roofcheck Marketing & Sales 38 01-29-2014 11:11 PM
New DeWalt 716 First Day Opinion. MF Custom Tools & Equipment 25 07-08-2012 09:46 AM
Protecting photos on FB ApgarNJ Marketing & Sales 74 03-08-2011 12:47 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?