My .02 - Marketing & Sales - Contractor Talk

My .02

Old 03-14-2011, 12:18 PM   #1
Test, Test, Test

Trade: Marketing Professional
Rewards Points: 10
Arrow

My .02

No, I'm not going to tell you something about myself. My screen name says it all. I'll let my words do the talking. I will state that I have been helping contractors with marketing for over 30+ years.

I see sooooooooooo much bad information here, it makes me cringe knowing some of you who really need help might actually waste your precious time and money heeding someones advice who is Clueless about marketing. It's the "Blind leading the Blind" theory. Just because a competitor is doing something doesn't mean he is making money doing it. Some of you try to emulate or model what the "Big Boys" are doing, let me tell you, most of the so-called Big Boys have NO clue what they are doing and are failing themselves.

Always, always consider the SOURCE of who is providing the info.

First and foremost, the reason some of you are NOT doing well in your business has nothing to do with the state of the current economy. For years you rode the gravy train of easy credit, homeowners tapping their HEL's (Home Equity Loans) and the despicable underwriting that went on with Mortgage Loans. The market always corrects itself, very much like your body has an immune system to weed out a virus.

The "gravy train" has left the station, the old days are NEVER coming back. The reason many of you did well in the last ten years was because of easy money, not the quality of your work. Now you have no choice but to learn how to use "Effective Marketing"!

Many of you spend 80% of your time "working IN the business" when in fact you should spend 80% working "ON" your business.