BBB Now Offering Online Reviews - Marketing & Sales - Contractor Talk

BBB Now Offering Online Reviews

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2015, 12:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Vermey's Avatar
 
Trade: Plumber
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 61

BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


All of the BBB's around the nation are now offering consumers the ability to write something positive about your business.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJB5vDZXTrY

Truthfully I like the way they are doing this. Your review will get held for a 3 day period for their staff to review as well as for their computer software to review it on the back end. They then send an email to the business owner to confirm that the customer was in fact a customer before they publish it.

Seems like a fair way to do it to insure against fake online reviews.
Vermey is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-24-2015, 02:46 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Maverick71's Avatar
 
Trade: painting
Join Date: May 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 38

Re: BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


I don't trust anyone who lowers my grade just because I won't pay them $500 a year to be accredited. I refused because they wanted access to my website to make changes

Advertisement

Maverick71 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Maverick71 For This Useful Post:
flashheatingand (05-25-2015)
Old 05-25-2015, 12:56 PM   #3
Pro
 
BugmanBCE's Avatar
 
Trade: Pest Control
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 271
Rewards Points: 537

Re: BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


I have no use for the BBB. I can find a better advertisement with $500. The worst thing is that the BBB isn't even marketing, they just take your money for nothing.
__________________
Pest Control League City, TX
BugmanBCE is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to BugmanBCE For This Useful Post:
flashheatingand (05-25-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2015, 04:45 PM   #4
Pro
 
flashheatingand's Avatar
 
Trade: H.v.a.c.
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boise, Id
Posts: 3,920
Rewards Points: 3,532

Re: BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


Nothing is free. If a customer writes a review on their site, they are sure to call you up to join.
__________________
http://www.37flash.com/
flashheatingand is offline  
Old 05-25-2015, 06:49 PM   #5
all else fails dynamite
 
AccurateCut's Avatar
 
Trade: Fencing/Landscaping Contractor 2nd Gener Carpenter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Colorado Front Range
Posts: 338
Rewards Points: 750

Re: BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


Al Capone is what the bbb reminds me of yuck they can keep there crap and dont call me
__________________
Can we build it
AccurateCut is offline  
Old 05-25-2015, 11:56 PM   #6
test
 
cedarboarder's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: BC Bring Cash
Posts: 3,301
Rewards Points: 815

Re: BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


I dont see my self ever joining bbb. Can I write a review on BBB?
cedarboarder is offline  
Old 05-26-2015, 12:41 PM   #7
Pro
 
BugmanBCE's Avatar
 
Trade: Pest Control
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 271
Rewards Points: 537

Re: BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by cedarboarder View Post
I dont see my self ever joining bbb. Can I write a review on BBB?
Yes, it's called a blog.

A local service company here got business of the year award something like 7 years in a row. The owner's wife was the vice president of the local BBB chapter. It's truly a horrible business and finally all the negative reviews overwhelmed them so that they couldn't keep giving themselves the award, but continue to rake in lots of money with exorbitant prices. So there's that.

The BBB is a pay for play self-appointed arbiter of which businesses are good. A lot of people think it is a government program because of their name, but it's just the original yelp. The BBB has been accused of improving ratings for those who pay and reducing ratings for those who stop.

Honestly, I expect the BBB to go away eventually. It is no longer relevant. This idea of having online reviews is them trying to catch up, but is a feeble attempt. I would surmise that it will go like this: Companies that pay the dues can stop negative reviews, those who don't pay will only have negative reviews posted, never a positive one. You have to pay for that. Maybe I'm just pessimistic about the nature of these types of organizations.
__________________
Pest Control League City, TX
BugmanBCE is offline  
Old 05-26-2015, 01:15 PM   #8
Pro
 
KAP's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12,311
Rewards Points: 39,968

Re: BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


First step in the process to post a review?... search for company on our website...

Interesting back-handed way to get you to use their service...

Last edited by KAP; 05-26-2015 at 03:57 PM.
KAP is offline  
Old 05-26-2015, 01:53 PM   #9
test
 
cedarboarder's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: BC Bring Cash
Posts: 3,301
Rewards Points: 815

Re: BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


Im debating having a section on my website explaining bbb and why it means nothing.
Some of the worst companys ive dealt with have bbb.
The worst a dodge dealer ship.
cedarboarder is offline  
Old 05-26-2015, 03:23 PM   #10
Red Letters
 
tjdrake's Avatar
 
Trade: Full Service Painting Contractor
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 42

Re: BBB Now Offering Online Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by cedarboarder View Post
Im debating having a section on my website explaining bbb and why it means nothing.
Some of the worst companys ive dealt with have bbb.
The worst a dodge dealer ship.
Some say its an extortion ring? I'm a paying member, but the more time that goes by the more I'm thinking of dropping it.

Advertisement

__________________
“The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of a low price is forgotten” – Benjamin Franklin
Interior Painters Jacksonville FL
Exterior Painters Jacksonville FL
tjdrake is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Angieslist Scam BamBamm5144 Marketing & Sales 47 11-12-2012 10:13 PM
FEEDBACK: Online Survey Tool Nathan Off Topic (Non Trade) 9 08-29-2006 05:20 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?