Basic Marketing - Marketing & Sales - Contractor Talk

Basic Marketing

Old 07-01-2012, 10:05 AM   #1
Finishing Carpenter

Trade: finishing Carpenter
Rewards Points: 720

Basic Marketing

I guess this is a bit of a rant, I am a little bit dissappointed by what I see in the service aspect in the tool stores. (not talking about the big boxes, that's self evident)

As a carpenter I need to buy some olfa blades now and then, I use the 1" wide ones. I know that my "local" tool store (20 min drive) carrys them, so I go there- last Feb they were out of stock. Huh? $20 for a pack of 20 blades? they are out?

Ok, I get some from another store. Here we go again, couple of weeks ago I need some more, so back I go as I wanted to look at bosch routers at the same time. Out again!!!! WTF? this should be of of those basic things that they make an obscene profit on, and have lots in stock. nope.

Ok, so bosch colt? we might have one upstairs, the price is (high) ok, there isn't one on the shelf so I can't see what's included. Seems that depending upon where you go some "kits" include 3 bases and a guide, and other kits include just a guide.

hmmmm ok, I gave up because I wanted to see it!

On my way out of the store I stopped at the cash register to get a couple of tubes of Bondo hardener. Nope, can't sell you any. Huh? only if you buy the can! but I only need the hardener. Nope, we're out of the extra's. Ok then, I go over to the drill bit section, as I want to get a cheapo set of small drill bits - you know the ones, 1/16" to 1/2". They break/get lost all the time so every couple of years I just get a new set.

I found them, but no price tag. I am kinda bummed out by this point, so I quietly leave the store and go somewhere else. Long drive to the next store (1/2 hr) but they had the drill bits priced, and I got to see the bosch colt kit, although the one that they had was a stripped down version, just the edge guide. Same part number - ? oy.