Angie's List Fake Reviews - Marketing & Sales - Contractor Talk

Angie's List Fake Reviews

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2014, 12:18 PM   #1
El Conquistador
 
nunya01's Avatar
 
Trade: Master Electrician
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 166

Angie's List Fake Reviews


Have you ever had someone drop a fake review bomb on you in Angie's List?
I'm not a huge fan of Angie's List. I tolerate it. I tried advertising on AL years ago and it was an expensive abysmal failure.

My business has a pretty good reputation around town. I might get 8-10 AL calls per year. Today I get that "Your business has a new review" email.
I go on see my new review is an "F". Not only is it an F, but it's from someone I've never heard of in my life.
I'm a lone gunman. Not much gets by me in the course of business.
This clown giving me the F says I didn't respond to his email. I went back and checked my email for the entire month of November. Nothing from this joker.

So, one moron claims he didn't get a reply to an email (a real reliable communication medium to begin with ) and they get to tarnish your hard earned reputation?
It would be different if this were a real customer and they had some reason to really be pissed at me.
36 "A" reviews, 1 "B", and then this joker comes along with an "F".

I'm thinking of just pulling my stuff off of there if they don't fix this.
Has anyone ever "done battle" with Angie's List on a bogus review? Any tips?
Attached Images
 
nunya01 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to nunya01 For This Useful Post:
NJPainter (03-13-2015)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-31-2014, 01:11 PM   #2
Pro
 
BamBamm5144's Avatar
 
Trade: Everything Exterior, Mostly Roofing.
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,181
Rewards Points: 2,786

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by nunya01 View Post
Have you ever had someone drop a fake review bomb on you in Angie's List?
I'm not a huge fan of Angie's List. I tolerate it. I tried advertising on AL years ago and it was an expensive abysmal failure.

My business has a pretty good reputation around town. I might get 8-10 AL calls per year. Today I get that "Your business has a new review" email.
I go on see my new review is an "F". Not only is it an F, but it's from someone I've never heard of in my life.
I'm a lone gunman. Not much gets by me in the course of business.
This clown giving me the F says I didn't respond to his email. I went back and checked my email for the entire month of November. Nothing from this joker.

So, one moron claims he didn't get a reply to an email (a real reliable communication medium to begin with ) and they get to tarnish your hard earned reputation?
It would be different if this were a real customer and they had some reason to really be pissed at me.
36 "A" reviews, 1 "B", and then this joker comes along with an "F".

I'm thinking of just pulling my stuff off of there if they don't fix this.
Has anyone ever "done battle" with Angie's List on a bogus review? Any tips?
Yup and now my company can no longer be found on there. It's the best thing that's happened to my business.

Advertisement

BamBamm5144 is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 01:30 PM   #3
Pro
 
KAP's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11,368
Rewards Points: 35,342

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by nunya01 View Post
36 "A" reviews, 1 "B", and then this joker comes along with an "F".
What are you worried abnout an "F" for not returning emails when you have 36 A's and 1 B?...

Just put a response that you've never received an email from said person, but then be proactive and place your number...

I think you are worried about nothing...
KAP is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KAP For This Useful Post:
Metro M & L (01-08-2015), NYgutterguy (12-31-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2014, 01:47 PM   #4
water re-locater
 
NYgutterguy's Avatar
 
Trade: Gutter installer
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: orange/rockland ny NYC suburbs
Posts: 6,943
Rewards Points: 7,020

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


The fact that there is someone out there that would pass up someone with 36a's and 1 B because of a lack of phone call or estimate and received an F due to such excuse defies normal rational thinking IMO.
Most people would prob see that the person that gave an F as a total Dick
NYgutterguy is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NYgutterguy For This Useful Post:
Chopsaw Chick (02-02-2015), KAP (12-31-2014)
Old 12-31-2014, 03:53 PM   #5
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,639
Rewards Points: 9,996

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


Ask him to resend the exact email. If he doesnt produce it then sue him.
JBM is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JBM For This Useful Post:
66 Shelby (01-09-2015), Tom Struble (02-02-2015)
Old 12-31-2014, 05:45 PM   #6
Pro
 
S.U.M's Avatar
 
Trade: Brick/Stone Mason
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Toronto ,ON,
Posts: 677
Rewards Points: 1,286

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


We have the same sorta thing here in Canada called Homestars, I have a good rating on there, about a year or so ago a "lady" give me a 3/10 rating because I couldn't meet her at her home at 10am on a Tuesday, I was on a chimney rebuild, I called Homestars who removed the review as work was never carried out for her. Some people love to bitch and moan about anything. Call A.L and ask for personal info so you can contact them or you and your contractor buddies on there will walk.
S.U.M is offline  
Old 01-01-2015, 11:41 AM   #7
Pro
 
SectorSecurity's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Wiring
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,048
Rewards Points: 2,828

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


I hate customers that get moody leave bad reviews because they call at 9 at night and want you to come out the next morning and don't understand you have other jobs lined up.

Just had a customer get made because I wasnt coming out new years day to do a consult.
SectorSecurity is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 09:30 AM   #8
Painting Contractor
 
George Z's Avatar
 
Trade: Painting Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,880
Rewards Points: 1,138

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


How legitimate are all the positive reviews?
So it works both ways.
For example in above mentioned Homestars, there are contractors that have over 400 or 500 reviews with average 9.9 rating.
Seriously, thousands and thousands of perfectly satisfied consumers,
receiving a perfect 10 service?
I think consumers are slightly more savvy these days, I wouldn't worry too much about it.
George Z is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 12:05 PM   #9
El Conquistador
 
nunya01's Avatar
 
Trade: Master Electrician
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 166

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


Each of the + reviews are from actual customers.

After hem-hawing around, Angie's List says they will not remove the fake review. I've simmered down a little, but I'm not over it yet.
When reputation is all you've got, it sucks for somebody to come by and wrong you on a whim.

The more I think about the ridiculousness of it all, I'd be willing to bet it's a competitor or a competitors buddy.
nunya01 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nunya01 For This Useful Post:
illbuildit.dd (01-07-2015), NJPainter (03-13-2015)
Old 01-07-2015, 12:36 PM   #10
House surgeon
 
illbuildit.dd's Avatar
 
Trade: building/remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: ok
Posts: 2,389
Rewards Points: 2,078

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


When I heard of angie list I thought how stupid. Luckily word of mouth has kept me busy for years through all seasons. The way i see it, one F will kill 30 A's. One of the biggest rules in business
illbuildit.dd is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 02:09 PM   #11
El Conquistador
 
nunya01's Avatar
 
Trade: Master Electrician
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 166

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


I had an old boss who used to say, "It takes a lotta 'atta boy's to cancel out one 'oh ****!'."
nunya01 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to nunya01 For This Useful Post:
illbuildit.dd (01-07-2015)
Old 01-07-2015, 04:11 PM   #12
Pro
 
KAP's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11,368
Rewards Points: 35,342

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by nunya01 View Post
Each of the + reviews are from actual customers.

After hem-hawing around, Angie's List says they will not remove the fake review. I've simmered down a little, but I'm not over it yet.
When reputation is all you've got, it sucks for somebody to come by and wrong you on a whim.

The more I think about the ridiculousness of it all, I'd be willing to bet it's a competitor or a competitors buddy.
On what did Angies list base that on? Didn't you provide them with any documentation? Your service provider might be able to give you a statement as to whether or not the guys email ever hit your account...

But honestly... the one you are referring to will hardly have an impact especially if it is negated by the fact that you return actual prospects calls/emails...

.IMHO... move on...
KAP is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 04:30 PM   #13
El Conquistador
 
nunya01's Avatar
 
Trade: Master Electrician
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 166

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


"I" am my email service provider. I did pull the exim logs from the middle of October until the middle of December. Nada. Spamassasin didn't get it either.
I also do not publicly advertise an email address. Mainly because of the amount of spam that would pour in.
I told them that. I also told them what we all know - email isn't the most reliable form of communication due to spam filters, human error, ISP outages, etc...
As a rational person, if I do not get a response to an email in a timely manner, I will pick up the phone and call them (I'm more apt to do business on the phone anyway).
nunya01 is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 03:38 PM   #14
New Guy
 
quickpatch's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall, painting, Builder
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Spokane Washington
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 66

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


I agree with those that say not to worry. It makes your other reviews more legitimate. Most people would assume the person typed your email address wrong.

Reasonable people will not take it seriously. Think of it as a potential client filter to weed out unreasonable customers.

Congratulations on all the positive reviews.
quickpatch is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 05:20 PM   #15
Head Light Bulb Changer
 
66 Shelby's Avatar
 
Trade: Renovation/Home Repair
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 847
Rewards Points: 216

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


I would definitely hound AL to either get that review taken down or have the 'customer' provide proof of an email sent. I don't use AL (and never will, but that's a rant for another thread). Are you allowed to respond to a review on AL? Something along the lines of "I would like to rectify this situation, but repeated requests for original email proof has gone ignored".
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBM View Post
Ask him to resend the exact email. If he doesnt produce it then sue him.
I've been hearing of people getting sued for slander for posting fake, bad reviews on sites. Good luck.
66 Shelby is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 07:24 PM   #16
Particulate Filter
 
Metro M & L's Avatar
 
Trade: Flooring
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,403
Rewards Points: 1,426

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


I found bad reviews magically disappeared after I was paying them fees. And then come back when canceled.
__________________
"A smart man learns from his mistakes; a wise man learns from the mistakes of others."

www.portlandhardwoodrefinishing.com
Metro M & L is offline  
Old 02-02-2015, 05:24 PM   #17
Registered User
 
solidrock1's Avatar
 
Trade: residential remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Roanoke Valley Virginia
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 12

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


I had the same thing happen. I don't have nearly as many reviews as you but I do have an A rating.I responded to the review stating that they must have me confused with someone else. I even suggested another contractor with a similar business name who I thought they might be talking about. I sent an email to Angies List asking them to remove it. They replied saying to check my records and make sure we didn't forget we talked to them, talked to someone else in the family, etc. I replied that I am the only person in the company doing sales calls, hadn't been to that town in years, and didn't even do the kind of work they were complaining about. They said they would contact the member and get back to me. I then sent an email to the sales rep who has been trying to sell me a premium listing. He said he would follow up. After a week and a half I sent another email saying that this is exactly why angies list has such a bad reputation with contractors and I was about to go on a tirade to see if I could make it worse. They took down the review.
solidrock1 is offline  
Old 02-02-2015, 06:34 PM   #18
El Conquistador
 
nunya01's Avatar
 
Trade: Master Electrician
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 166

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


I went through all the proper channels and Angie's List refused to take down the false review. I did ask them if the jerk who left the review could provide evidence that he even emailed me. I did due diligence on my end and found no evidence of an email.
Apparently the review doesn't have as much "weight" because I didn't do business with this ass-hat. I'm kind of glad I didn't have to deal with this clown. Anybody that goes off leaving ****ty reviews over an alleged email is probably a "whole lot of fun" to work with.
The "F" review has since been buried by more "A" reviews, so I'm going to just let it be. Here is the response I posted:

The simple fact of the matter is this: I did not receive an email from this individual. I pulled email records from mid-October through mid-December and verified. Email is not a reliable form of communication. From spam filters to server failures to ISP outages - there is a lot that can go wrong. This is just one of the reasons I DO NOT publish an email address for the general public. That, and the fact that I would be inundated with spam.
As a rational person, if I do not receive a reply to an email in a timely manner, I would pick up the phone and call them. That is why I believe this review was malicious in intent; probably from a competitor or a competitorís friend acting at their behest. It is a shame that someone, acting on a whim, can soil the good reputation I have worked so hard to earn.
nunya01 is offline  
Old 02-02-2015, 06:43 PM   #19
Registered User
 
solidrock1's Avatar
 
Trade: residential remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Roanoke Valley Virginia
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 12

Re: Angie's List Fake Reviews


sometimes you have to cut your losses and move on. It does point out why improving the standing of your own website is a better way to go.

Advertisement

solidrock1 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?