Google Sketchup - Architecture & Design - Contractor Talk

Google Sketchup

Old 01-30-2011, 10:18 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: Licensed Contractor
Rewards Points: 500

Google Sketchup

Over the last year I have been using Google Sketchup. It took a little bit of time to get familiar with the program but I am really starting to like it. I am still a beginner at using this program; here is a plan for a bookshelf I just built. I feel like it saved me a lot of time and it's nice to know your on the same page with the homeowner.
Attached Thumbnails
Google Sketchup-bookshelf.jpg  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-30-2011, 10:28 AM   #2

Trade: Plumbing & remodeling
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Google Sketchup

My brother in law turned me on to that program, I checked it out once but didn't spend a lot of time with it. It seemed kind of difficult to use, how long did it take you to get the hang of it? I need to start using something though, it's good to show a visual. Also, do you pay for it or just use the free version?
Jimmy

Advertisement

Old 01-30-2011, 10:29 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: Carpenter
Rewards Points: 2,000

Yeah sketch-up rocks....I just wish I would make myself spend the time to learn it.

Can't beat the price either.

Old 01-30-2011, 10:31 AM   #4
Pro

I use the free version. I would say that I spent about 8 hours playing around and watching some of the tutorials. I would highly recommend investing some time to learn the program.
Old 01-30-2011, 10:47 AM   #5