Tired Of My Trade. Don't Think I Want To Do It Anymore - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Tired Of My Trade. Don't Think I Want To Do It Anymore

Old 03-29-2012, 02:40 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: carpentry
Rewards Points: 268

Tired Of My Trade. Don't Think I Want To Do It Anymore

Carpenter by trade with my GC license. Range of work is from Remodeling to kitchen installs, decks, trim work etc..

Been on my own for about 15 years now. I love being my own boss, I have no employees, Have a handful of friends in the same trade that will work with me when more than one person is needed. I help them as well if I'm slow, its a great tradeoff.
I just can't pinpoint what has me so bothered by my work. Im just fed up with everything. Im slow as crap at one moment , the next moment I'm so slammed. I know thats what comes with being self employed it all has its ups and downs.
I take a ton of pride in everything i do. If its ripping down drywall or installing a high end kitchen I always give my best.
I have never advertised ever. All my work has come from referrals, which is great.

Im just don't want to do this type of work anymore. Im ready for a change. What do i want to do? Have no freakin idea.
I just know the feeling i have that i want to do something else.

My area its 50/50 Some of my buddies are slammed some are dead in the water. Customers just don't seem to care anymore about quality of how much pride you have. Its the BOTTOM DOLLAR and thats it...

There will be times i go a month or so with no paycheck, Then ill get a nice big one. I know thats part of being your own boss.
Just tired of it. Im ready to just quit and try something new.
Is this bad to think this way?
SO sorry for the wall of text. Just needed to ramble on.
Im single , no kids have nothing keeping me where i am etc.
I want to just pack up and go somewhere new and start over.

Ugh time for a beer....