Storing Electrical Supplies - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Storing Electrical Supplies

Old 01-10-2019, 09:42 PM   #1
improving homes

Trade: Roofing/Remodeling
Rewards Points: 338

Storing Electrical Supplies

I'm not an electrician and do have one that does most of my work. But doing remodeling there are times I need to replace a switch or outlet or cover plate or even move over an outlet quick. Nothing major but something that we might run into and need to take care of right away so we can keep going. So over time I have accumulated a decent selection of electrical boxes, switches, receps, cover plates, etc. Right now I have 2 or 3 rubbermaid type bins that I have it all in that I like to carry with me for the times we run into needing that one thing and a drive to the store is 30 minutes each way.

Any creative ideas on how to store this stuff? Right now it's just in a bin and to find the one piece I need I have to take out most of the bin and dig through everything. Not a huge deal since I don't need to do this often but still a pain and since I have organization OCD I would like to be able to store these things a little better. I usually buy things by the box since they are cheap. So have a box of white switches, box of LA switches, box of ivory switches, outlets, 3 ways, covers, etc. And right now they are all just thrown in a bin.

My electrician has shelves on his trailer with everything organized which is great but since electrical is a very very small part of what I do I can't just take up a bunch of shelves to organize everything. Would still like a bin or two but would like to have it somewhat organized so I don't have to dig through a whole bin just to find one switch plate. Also like bins so I can carry the whole thing into the job if needed.

Anyone in a similar predicament? Have any creative solutions?