Stop Work Order! Zoning Complaint. - Page 2 - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Stop Work Order! Zoning Complaint.

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2015, 07:44 PM   #21
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 24,591
Rewards Points: 70

Re: Stop Work Order! Zoning Complaint.


Quote:
Originally Posted by abacab View Post
Life safety 101? Never heard of that, have to look that up.
NFPA Life Safety 101. There are some jurisdictions up here that view IRC as governing active construction, and Life Safety covers all buildings, even if there is no construction activity. They'll require bringing the whole building up to current life safety codes. Nothing is grandfathered under Life Safety.
hdavis is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to hdavis For This Useful Post:
SmallTownGuy (10-23-2015)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 10-24-2015, 09:25 PM   #22
Pro
 
abacab's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 378
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Stop Work Order! Zoning Complaint.


All is well, we are able to get a hearing already early next month. We have plans to make corrections if we do not get the variance. I had to talk the homeowner out of making any major changes just to comply, and fortunately the zoning administrator was of similar mind.
abacab is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to abacab For This Useful Post:
hdavis (10-25-2015)
Old 11-21-2015, 06:59 AM   #23
Pro
 
abacab's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 378
Rewards Points: 390

Re: Stop Work Order! Zoning Complaint.


We won our case, the changes we made to the roof that were within the 5' setback did not require a zoning permit, and they withdrew their request. We also withdrew our request to go over the maximum lot coverage limit, so we are cutting the garage back instead. Your requirements may be different in your area, it was only after a careful reading of the law by their lawyer did we win the case. It originally appeared we were going to lose. We are very happy with the outcome.

PS I wrote earlier we had support from neighbors on 3 sides, this was not correct, 2 wrote letters against, and another directly across the canal made a presentation against (He was forced to comply when he built his house, and was going to make sure we complied. Much of his case was built on incorrect information, and something we easily disproved by an actual property survey.

Advertisement


Last edited by abacab; 11-21-2015 at 07:21 AM.
abacab is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asking for more money elbud433 Construction 286 03-21-2018 08:47 AM
Kid needed decks and finish work toronto bbgcarpentry Help Wanted or Looking For Work 3 04-23-2013 09:55 PM
Non union jobsite (quaker church)vandalized in philadelphia $500,000 Damage mastersplinter Carpentry 41 04-19-2013 01:06 AM
Poor framing/concrete pad work from contractor netlinks Construction 10 10-26-2012 06:44 PM
Commercial Repair/Insurance work, New company policy... Its called, Tree-Fiddy Tech Dawg General Discussion 18 08-14-2012 10:57 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?