Steel Beam Spans - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Steel Beam Spans

Old 03-06-2009, 10:10 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Steel Beam Spans

hello, my name is rj and I am a carpenter in va. This is my first time on the site and I need HELP. I am building a 28' x 36' wood frame cape cod style garage for a customer. I want to put a 36' steel I beam down the center and use 2 x 10 x 14' floor joists. I am using 2 x 8 rafters with a 12/12 pitch and will have knee walls 5' in from each side. The room will probably be finished someday, so I need 40 lb. live load upstairs. Can someone PLEASE tell me what size steel I beam I need? I forgot that there will be a load bearing wall at 20 feet. Thanks for any help!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-06-2009, 10:12 PM   #2
Pompass Ass

Trade: Certified Building and Certified A/C Contractor
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Steel Beam Spans

Quote:
Originally Posted by wood framer View Post
hello, my name is rj and I am a carpenter in va. This is my first time on the site and I need HELP. I am building a 28' x 36' wood frame cape cod style garage for a customer. I want to put a 36' steel I beam down the center and use 2 x 10 x 14' floor joists. I am using 2 x 8 rafters with a 12/12 pitch and will have knee walls 5' in from each side. The room will probably be finished someday, so I need 40 lb. live load upstairs. Can someone PLEASE tell me what size steel I beam I need? I forgot that there will be a load bearing wall at 20 feet. Thanks for any help!
The people you buy the steel beam from will be able to tell you that.

Where are you located?