Seeking Advice On Career Move. Question Related To Trades Education. - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Seeking Advice On Career Move. Question Related To Trades Education.

Old 02-28-2011, 05:46 PM   #1

Trade: building maintenance
Rewards Points: 10

Seeking Advice On Career Move. Question Related To Trades Education.

I'm not sure if this is the best place to ask or not, but I figure it's worth a shot. I have been working building maintenance for nearly 9 years. I have taken 3 continuing education style courses in electrical work and woodworking. But I do not have a journey worker's card in a trade. In 6 months, I am moving to New Orleans (from Virginia), and I am worried about not finding a job. I was wondering if you had any tips or advice on what I could do (hopefully in the short term) to make myself more attractive to employers on my resume. I am looking for any job in the skills trades.

Alternatively, do you know what trades have either accelerated programs, or shorter course work towards the goal of becoming a licensed journey worker? Any recommended self-guided/online courses? I know the JATC program for electricians is 5 years, but Virginia's state requirements for taking the journey workers exam is less (not sure about Louisiana). Spending 5 years as an apprentice, starting at the age of 30, does not sound that appealing. Maybe I am wrong, but I feel like if I had a journey workers card, my employment options would be greater than if I didn't. And I feel like because I have 9 years work experience in general maintenance, and a good base knowledge in a number of trades, I can really go in any direction. And in maybe as short as a year or 2, by taking some courses at a local technical school or online, and studying hard, be able to obtain certification in a trade. Is this realistic? And to repeat, are there any trades that take less time to complete than others, or any specific programs of study or institutions that may meet my needs?