Right Choice? - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Right Choice?

Old 03-13-2014, 10:40 PM   #1

Trade: Carpenter
Rewards Points: 10

Right Choice?

First post, been lurking the forums for a while and really enjoy the site.

I have a question and just want to see if I am being a total sap, or making the right choice... Here it goes.

I've been doing residential carpentry for 13 years. Came across a great opportunity with a new company and signed on 2 weeks ago. Including me, there's 5 of us on the job. All standard residential work everything's going fine. Realize about 2 days ago, the other 4 guys were coming back from lunch and are clearly taking "a smoke break" and I'm not talking about grandpa'a Lucky Strikes...had suspicions and they were finally confirmed in front of me.

Wife says go straight to the owner and express my concern, I say "thanks for the opportunity, things didn't work out"
I don't care what you do on your own time, but this is how I feed my family and it's not what I signed up for. Speak up and I'm the asshole when he doesn't fire his whole crew and I'm stuck working with these dudes. I have money in savings, not worried if it takes a month or so to find a new gig, but life's too short for me not to feel comfortable going to work each day. I assume it's an issue that's not going to change and I would just have to deal with it, and I absolutely refuse that.

Don't want to stir the pot, and it's not in my nature to throw them under the bus but I figure I move on now. I understand times are changing but it's not my style work environment. I plan to respectfully put my two weeks in tomorrow, with request of being done ASAP.

Any input?