Remodeling Brothers Kitchen - Permit? - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Remodeling Brothers Kitchen - Permit?

Old 05-04-2018, 06:33 PM   #1

Trade: renovation
Rewards Points: 26

Remodeling Brothers Kitchen - Permit?

Hey everyone, long time lurker here but haven't posted much.

A little background - 26 year old carpenter in Connecticut, 3 years in the trade. I am a carpenter with little to no experience with how the business aspect of projects works, so I'm looking for a little advice. My brother asked me to remodel his kitchen with/for him, excited at the prospect of renewing his dilapidated kitchen, I said yes. I've done a few built-ins for him in the past and everything turned out great. The layout will be mostly staying the same besides taking out one non-load bearing wall, adding 6 can lights and two outlets (bringing in an electrician), and changing his electric range out for a propane cooktop (also bringing in a plumber). We must pull a permit to install the propane and gas lines, but weren't originally planning to pull a permit for the entire kitchen remodel. Any advice on what to do? Should we bite the bullet and pull a permit for the entire job? Should we try to work around it somehow?

As I said before, I have never had to pull a permit before so I don't know how these things normally work. I understand if it was an actual contracted job instead of working with my brother, permits would be pulled no question. And yes, I do expect to be chastised for asking

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 05-04-2018, 06:52 PM   #2
Capra aegagrus

Trade: Remodeler

Re: Remodeling Brothers Kitchen - Permit?