Principal Paid / Contracted MY Sub - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Principal Paid / Contracted MY Sub

Old 07-16-2015, 04:45 PM   #1

Trade: carpentry-painting-landscaping
Rewards Points: 2

Principal Paid / Contracted MY Sub

Hi, so I'm pretty new to contracting business, in third year. I did great doing smaller jobs with one other helper and I started taking bigger jobs, last year. I'm new to managing guys, as well. I never subbed out any job until this one.

The customer a home builder and a East Indian who I worked for in the past wanted me to do soffit, fascia, and eavestrough on his personal home he's remodeling. I stipulated in our contract that the land in our working areas be smoothed out and cleared of obstructions/large rocks before beginning. As well, ensure electricity turned off outside, and new exterior or under soffit lighting be installed before starting. He negotiated my original bid down $500, btw. Later, I asked the principal for extra money for structural repairs to the soffit in 2 areas and to install dripcap. And those extras was rejected.

Thinking I had got into a bad deal that wasn't priced right, and since the electrical and site work stipulations weren't met, I subbed out some of the work (complete soffit and fascia install, but not eavestrough), thinking it will save money. My sub, angry, that it was taking too long / wasn't making enough, my sub complained to the principal, demanding money, bad mouthing me too, even though the work was not completed / had deficiencies (my sub and i's contract was deficiencies must be fixed for nothing extra) --the agreement between I and principal and sub and I, was money paid when work finished. I bent over backwards to get cash for them, before their work was done, for food or whatever, I might add.