Painting Pole Barn Slider Door Rails - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Painting Pole Barn Slider Door Rails

Old 01-09-2019, 02:50 PM   #1

Trade: Carpenter/Builder and H.S. Constr. Trades Teacher
Rewards Points: 18

Painting Pole Barn Slider Door Rails

1st time user, long time forum fan, Hello all.
I am a builder and a H.S. Construction Trades Teacher in which we build Pole Barns with the students.
My question to you all is:
Has anyone had success in painting the white aluminum slider door rails that come already primed, ( I think that is primer??).
I have done some research on painting aluminum but it depends on who is answering to the tips you get.
We have tried different methods to paint these to match the trim of the barn and have not been happy with how scratch resistant they are. And I mean, just brush up against it and it looks like crap.

In the past we have scuffed the white paint or primer, then used our own aluminum etching primer, and then 2-3 thin coats of spray paint.
Anyone out there have advice to what we are doing wrong.
Maybe the better question is....where can I buy painted door rails? Our suppliers say they can only get white.

Thanks for considering my post and appreciate any answers y'all have.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-09-2019, 03:16 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Remodeling
Rewards Points: 556

Re: Painting Pole Barn Slider Door Rails

You're spray painting with what? And what is it scratching down to?

Advertisement

Old 01-09-2019, 03:25 PM   #3