Nightmare Job, Extreme Damage, Need Help - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Nightmare Job, Extreme Damage, Need Help

Old 08-10-2010, 05:22 PM   #1

Trade: C20 HVAC
Rewards Points: 10

Nightmare Job, Extreme Damage, Need Help

Hi,

I'm a HVAC Contractor but also do minor handyman stuff on the side, I was ask to renovate / clean etc. a condo that was extremely filthy, the tenant live there for over 20 yrs. What makes this job hard was the Home Owner Assoc. (HOA), tellling me i need forms for this, that, can only work certain hours, etc. So I told them I'm a Heating contractor, not a GC. The waived the insurance requirement cuz this was a simple yet tedious job. Mostly painting and flooring and fixtures.

I have friends in different trades who help me with this. Painter did a good job, flooring guys did a fantastic job. To make a long story short, I spent about 3 months on this job as it was a favor to a friend who owns the condo.
The flooring/baseboards were done back in May, and i finished the final cleaning in July. The same day a tennant moves in i get a call the the place is flooded and i need to come there immediately. I go there and see water all over the lobby/ceiling, good thing the unit is on 2nd floor and not the 15th. So I went to the unit and maintenance was already tearing apart the wall, and a plumber was there to fix the leak. What happen was when the floor were done, new baseboards were also put in using 2" nail gun. There is no way anyone could have known a pipe was immediately behind wall, it didn't leak for 2 months.

The HOA is claiming contractor negligence and trying to sue either me or the owner or both. The repairs are not too difficult, it's the restoration and prevention of mold that is. So it costed $5000 for lobby and $300 for unit, not including repairs.

So I need you guys help here as to what I can do. The pipe behind the wall should have had a protective plate and/.or a floor plate, but it didn't.