Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

New to this. Negotiating cost.

4K views 24 replies 21 participants last post by  Jaws 
#1 ·
Hello. I am new to this. I started out in my business by calculating the cost of the job. I factor in how many hours it will take me, what tools I may need to rent if it is a large job, and the amount of work it will take to get it done. I try to charge less than more established companies because I am new and I understand that people are more comfortable with more established companies and I am just starting out.

Recently, I estimated a job to be about 1300$. It would involve the painting of several rooms, installing a toilet and tiling the floor. I would need to rent a tile saw. Based on my researched estimates, 1300$ seemed like a fair price, and on the low end to boot.

The guy, who used to be a handy man himself and ran his own business, consistently insists that he wants to pay me per hour. He says he has most all of the materials all ready to go, (I wasn't factoring the materials into the amount I was charging for labor), and he wanted to pay me 25$ per hour and have this all done in a weekend. There is no way I would make what I calculated, in one weekend at 25$.

I am new so I am interested to hear the advice and experiences of handy men who have been in the business a long time and have experienced this kind of customer.

See less See more
#3 ·
This is probably good advice.
And you better be charging at least $50 per hour for your time & tools or it's not even worth showing up.

Nothing wrong with working by the hour, but when you get into one of those deals where the client wants to buy all the materials or hire subs so you don't get any mark-up or profit on them, you have to jack up your labor rates accordingly. In the end, you need to be making as much as if you were running all the materials and subs thru your books too.

#7 ·