Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum

Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum (https://www.contractortalk.com/forum.php)
-   General Discussion (https://www.contractortalk.com/f11/)
-   -   My first Solar Screens... opinion (https://www.contractortalk.com/f11/my-first-solar-screens-opinion-66092/)

JaxBuild 10-06-2009 09:00 PM

My first Solar Screens... opinion
 
Well we added a new service for our company, and that is window solar screens. They offer a wide range of solar screen color and screen frame, and not only does it block 80%-90% of light, to me it also makes the house look better. I have researched solar screens a lot lately the screens usually pay for themselves in 2 years, by cutting cooling cost. Obviously they only make since where it feels like summer year round (Florida, Texas, Arizona....)

Let me know your opinion, or if you have any questions...

Before:
http://i35.tinypic.com/hx3yvn.jpg
After:
http://i37.tinypic.com/wmmglk.jpg

Cdat 10-07-2009 05:59 AM

How long did they take you to install? Question asked because, the grass plant life looks EXACTLY the same in both pictures. Not one leaf or blade moved or grown or cut.

JaxBuild 10-07-2009 07:08 AM

haha... ya I made them all first than installed them all at once in about 3 minutes. Some windows, like these, have a track made for a solar screen so they just pop in, others have to have clips installed which on a house like this would take about 1-2 hours.

Cdat 10-07-2009 07:19 AM

They look good on THAT house.

stp57 10-07-2009 07:20 AM

Uh oh, photoshop accusation!:laughing:
Steve

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cdat (Post 782560)
How long did they take you to install? Question asked because, the grass plant life looks EXACTLY the same in both pictures. Not one leaf or blade moved or grown or cut.


JaxBuild 10-07-2009 07:41 AM

No, for the amount of time I spent making these screens, I promise that they are not photoshopped... haha, I guess it is a compliment if it looks to good to be real... haha

SC sawdaddy 10-07-2009 07:45 AM

Makes a big difference.:thumbsup: You should be able to get more work from this job.
Any service/product you can offer with the promise it will pay for itself with the money saved on heating and cooling costs is going to be easy to sell.

JaxBuild 10-07-2009 08:14 AM

Here are some more pictures from the back of the house...

Before:
http://i38.tinypic.com/15efko1.jpg
After:
http://i36.tinypic.com/2j0i4d1.jpg

J F 10-07-2009 08:22 AM

at least you changed the orientation on the second set a little b4 you 'shopped 'em :laughing:

The first 2 pics do look eerily alike, just some light changes in 'shop...somehow you held your camera in the EXACT position ...and like cdat said no change in anything.... :whistling

Let me guess...a tripod :shifty:

Cdat 10-07-2009 08:29 AM

Now, the 2nd set suck. I'd suggest you step back and take a whole house picture.

J F 10-07-2009 08:32 AM

And I'm surprised that bug never moved during installation. :laughing:

JaxBuild 10-07-2009 08:57 AM

HAHA, here are some more pictures for you, and it was getting dark last night, that is the reason for the light change.

Yes I sat the camera on a fence post, and tried to get the exact picture, before and after.

http://i38.tinypic.com/351d21e.jpg
http://i37.tinypic.com/r1d744.jpg

J F 10-07-2009 08:59 AM

so, how long ya' been using photoshop?







































:laughing: sorry man, just bustin' balls

JaxBuild 10-07-2009 09:16 AM

haha, no problem, I wish I was that good at photo shopping... I did our office as well I am posting a picture asap, to prove you all wrong :)

JaxBuild 10-07-2009 09:21 AM

Office Screens

http://i36.tinypic.com/2dai0js.jpg

GrasshopperPete 10-07-2009 08:30 PM

Don`t the original screens ( white ) refect the suns heat and the new ones ( black ) absorb it?

JaxBuild 10-08-2009 08:31 AM

Actually the white that are you seeing are just the interior blinds, once the heat enters through the window and hits the blinds the heat is already inside your house which is the reason for solar screens, to reflect heat/light before it enters your house. And yes darker the screen the more efficient the screen, I am not sure of the science behind that, I just know that is what the manufacture states.

Jason

glassman 10-08-2009 08:33 PM

looks great
 
We install these on quite a few commercial buildings as well, they are a proven way to reduce heating cooling cost, and some LEEDS building now require them.
Are you using phifer brand or sungard? heard great things about both.:thumbsup:

GrasshopperPete 10-08-2009 10:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JaxBuild (Post 783335)
Actually the white that are you seeing are just the interior blinds, once the heat enters through the window and hits the blinds the heat is already inside your house which is the reason for solar screens, to reflect heat/light before it enters your house. And yes darker the screen the more efficient the screen, I am not sure of the science behind that, I just know that is what the manufacture states.

Jason


So if the white ones were closer to the frame they would work?

Why dont we paint the roof black to reduce heat?

SAorry to be a pest but this doesnt make sense to me.

dtfoltz 02-10-2012 07:03 PM

Those are nice looking screens good job


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.