Kids In Schools Not Learning Shop Skills - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Kids In Schools Not Learning Shop Skills

Old 07-11-2014, 07:08 PM   #1

Trade: General Builder
Rewards Points: 38

Kids In Schools Not Learning Shop Skills

Hey guys and gals
I wanted to vent about the ongoing tradition of cutting "shop" classes in schools.
We are ALL responsible for this because we allow it to happen.

Let me explain:
I am a veteran shop teacher and have been witnessing the slashing of schools budgets which gives them the excuse of cutting shop.

They refuse to cut band or art

Count on your hands, how many professional musicians do you know??

Now, How many professional artists do you know??

OK............. Here we go:
How many Carpenters, electricians, plumbers, welders, other contractors do you know?? Even engineers, yes

It makes me sick that our kids have to have 2 years of Algebra and 2 years of foreign language, when half of these kids will never use it, and they ALL need to know how to work with their hands and MEASURE for crying out loud.

We are all responsible because we let it happen. The good side is the fact that it allows those of us who are good at this stuff to charge more because no one else can do it.

The bad side is there are many people unable to make a living because they were never taught or encouraged to go into the TRADES!!!!!!!

Talk to your local school boards, GET SHOP BACK IN SCHOOLS.

And I'm not talking about Tech ed either!!!!!
Thanks for letting me vent

Signed,
Frustrated shop teacher, father, citizen of these great United States
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to sylobeg For This Useful Post: