I Need Some Information About Bidding A Prevailing Wage Job - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

I Need Some Information About Bidding A Prevailing Wage Job

Old 11-20-2008, 05:09 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Painting Contractor
Rewards Points: 256

I Need Some Information About Bidding A Prevailing Wage Job

I'm a paint contractor and have never done a PW job. This particular job is for the government, painting a Army Reserve's post. Reading through the specs, instructions, and just general job notes is beyond ridiculous.

For starters, they want to know exactly how much profit I project to make off of each phase of the job. How much in material etc. etc. Knowing how much profit I make is none of their business IMO, this seems way to personal for me. They also want me to show them every week's payroll, again this seems ridiculous too. I'm aware they want to make sure I'm paying the prevailing wage, which I certainly will, but these are red flags to me.

How much is it to get bonded, what's a surety bond etc.? These may be goofy questions but I need some answers from some of you guys out there that have been down this road before. I don't want to get in over my head, even though I've done commercial work in the past it hasn't been of the PW variety. Are these jobs worth the perceived hassle?

One more thing, I noticed on the files I downloaded that they had estimated 150 grand for painting. Now I can't find that page, it's like it's been deleted. Maybe I wasn't supposed to have access to it but I did.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 11-20-2008, 06:04 PM   #2
Structural Engineer

Trade: Mechanical, Structural