Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

how to get into IKE cleanup or rebuilding????

3K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  buildpinnacle 
#1 · (Edited)
anyone know how/where to get information on getting work rebuilding homes and buildings or storm cleanup from IKE? I'm up in Wisconsin, have a crew of 3 guys with a skytrak, skidsteer, lowboy and all the tools ready to go if I could get some jobs and maybe help some people start to get their lives and homes back into shape. I am not a storm chaser for those of you already to say that...winter is coming and not too many long term jobs lined up here so thinking of heading south, I am a full service general contractor and been in business for 8 years......thanks for any help

#5 ·
Landmark:

Having worked several natural disasters, I can tell you the best manner of advertising in the 'Ike' market is word of mouth. Of course, you have to have a project prior to getting referrals. Landing the first project can be done by use of jobsigns, door hangers, truck signs, small area mailers, and eating breakfast at the local greasy spoon every morning, chatting with the patrons, handing out cards, and always wear a nice company polo. I have found that people have actually stopped us filling up our trucks to get business cards, and I try to set appointments at that time.