To Get A Degree? - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

To Get A Degree?

Old 08-19-2019, 04:23 PM   #1

Trade: residential
Rewards Points: 4

To Get A Degree?

Been reading this forum for months now, never posted.
I am 24, married with a child on the way and work as a superintendent for a small residential builder in East Tennessee. I would like to, for better finiancial means amd for more challenges, move in to a bigger company, preferably commercial. I dont have any formal education related to the construction industry ( I have an associates degree in applied science), and have noticed that most companies are preferring applicants with Bachelors in construction management, while others still seem to be more experience focused.

So my question is, would it be worth it to go to school online, and get a degree in construction management while i and younger, and take on the educational and timely challenge? For you all who have said degree, did it help you significantly attain a job that you were after? For any of you all who hire, do you pay more attention to education or experience? Or a bit of both i assume?
Thanks in advance for any replies.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 08-19-2019, 04:43 PM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 3,026

Re: To Get A Degree?

most, if not all commercial outfits want/prefer guys with some sort of construction or engineering degree these days, unless you have a mountain of experience/track record.

however, most will hire an older experienced guy w/no education over a young whippersnapper fresh out of college.