Expanding Business - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Expanding Business

Old 02-19-2011, 05:56 PM   #1

Trade: painting
Rewards Points: 10

Expanding Business

I've been in business over 20 years as a painting contractor. I have added other services to my business that I personally due or subcontract out. My employees are used primarily as painters. I install windows, doors, trim, glass block, drywall, etc. I recently finished a couple small remodeling jobs and now acting as a GC on a fire job. Some of the work I'm doing hands on and other I'm subcontracting out. I'm no shoemaker either or some amateur. I've worked all high end work and have been surrounded by quality tradesmen for 20 years now. I also recognize my limitations and when to use more knowledgeable people. My question finally. People see my work and are impressed but when the business card says I'm a painter I feel it hinders my advancement for larger jobs and GC work. Most of my work is painting. I have a partner and employees and 20 years invested in it. Can I do business as a general contractor with a new name on a business cards but still run things through my painting business. Checking account etc.? My business is painting dynamics and I was going to have cards printed as P.D. contracting. I know checks would still need written to painting dynamics. Any suggestions.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 02-19-2011, 07:16 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: interior remodeling
Rewards Points: 2,664

Re: Expanding Business

You will need to talk to your accountant or business attorney to get a good answer---