End Of Year Employee Review - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

End Of Year Employee Review

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2018, 11:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Justin Rhoades's Avatar
 
Trade: framer
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Yacolt WA
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 108

End Of Year Employee Review


Any of you guys do some kind of year end review with your employees? I want to do something like this for my guys. I'm not sure how to go about this, what type of questions to ask etc.

I think it will be good for them and me to get and give some feedback on how we are performing at work. I feel like I would have appreciated that when I was an employee.
Justin Rhoades is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Justin Rhoades For This Useful Post:
Fixed (12-09-2018), Tinstaafl (12-09-2018)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-09-2018, 12:00 PM   #2
Bubble stick operator
 
Defenestrate's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: California
Posts: 511
Rewards Points: 70

Re: End Of Year Employee Review


We do reviews (peers and managers) on people's hire dates. That spreads it around the year, so you don't have this wall of unpleasant work to deal with all at once. We also have the employee fill out the same review that everyone else does. We happen to have a numeric scale and room for comments. (Comments are supposedly anonymous, but one kinda knows where comments come from, and it's not perfect. I'm not sure how that can get fixed, frankly.)

The reviews tie back to the job description. (You have those, right?**) Ie, if job description says, "you will act professional" and have a few key indicators (dressed right, behave around customers, etc), then all you have to do is decide if they fall short/ meet expectations/ exceed expectations. If they fall short, suggest for improvement. If they exceed, pat them on the back. If they meet expectations, pat them on the back as well, and maybe encourage them to try to exceed. (But be clear that 'meeting expectations' is good; we seem to have devolved into a culture where less than 5 stars is a fail.)

**If you don't have a job description that says things like 'you'll act professional', you can hardly blame a guy for interpreting norms however he wants.

Advertisement


Last edited by Defenestrate; 12-09-2018 at 12:04 PM.
Defenestrate is offline  
Old 12-09-2018, 12:26 PM   #3
Pro
 
Stryker1-1's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Systems
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 899
Rewards Points: 1,808

Re: End Of Year Employee Review


When I was working for a bank we did yearly reviews.

It was a form that asked what you thought you did well what you thought you could improve on what major projects you completed things like that.

The employee would fill it out then a manager would add their comments then you would sit down and discuss.

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk
Stryker1-1 is offline  
Old 12-09-2018, 06:19 PM   #4
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,703
Rewards Points: 345

Re: End Of Year Employee Review


Excellent idea, Justin. About the only reviews I got in my employee days were an occasional pay raise, and it drove me nuts not having some sort of feedback outside of that.

I could even see doing it bi-annually. As you say, it can provide valuable feedback on both ends of the paycheck.
Tinstaafl is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Happy New Year! greg24k Off Topic (Non Trade) 11 01-01-2018 02:47 AM
random year end tax question fred54 Business 15 12-28-2017 08:37 AM
Best year ever!! cbscreative Marketing & Sales 4 12-08-2014 12:43 PM
well, it's that time of year again. JT Wood Off Topic (Non Trade) 13 04-17-2013 10:47 AM
A YEAR away from work... Milhaus Business 6 06-29-2009 11:59 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?