Difficult Customer- Options Moving Forward- Help - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Difficult Customer- Options Moving Forward- Help

Old 03-18-2019, 12:02 AM   #1

Trade: General
Rewards Points: 10

Difficult Customer- Options Moving Forward- Help

Hello guys, I'm new to the contracting world and 2nd year in business. I've learned a lot along the way, fishing through good subs and bad subs unfortunately.

First time dealing with a customer wanting an unrealistic request, actually demand.

So working on completing a 32 window project, most special order. After contract was signed, waited a week for payment to clear, 2 weeks later finalized the vendor I was going with and order was placed. Called back a month later to get update and status of windows, nothing yet. Called a week later only to find out the order was being held up for some odd reason at the manufacturer. Instead of telling customer this happened, I assured them that there was some confusion with the vendor and manufacturer and i've requested they expedite instead.

The manufacture was on back order as is cause they were approaching the holidays and was told to add an addtional 2-3 weeks. Finally got the windows right in early winter. Exterior project in the middle of winter is difficult, paint doesnt dry, caulking doesnt set correctly, wet conditions make it difficutl to climb ladders along with saturated ground (which this season was a really wet one) and cold temps pretty much delayed most of the project along with delivery delays, plus damaged windows that had to be reordered, etc.

It was a process to finally start and get going, customer understood, expressed a little frustration but overall in good spirits.